الفرق بين CO OP VS CONDO

تحديد نوع العقار الذي يجب شراؤه
 

طلب اجتماع

قبل البدء في البحث عن الممتلكات ، يجب على المشترين فهم الأنواع المختلفة من العقارات المتاحة للبيع في سوقهم. على سبيل المثال، مانهاتن لديها أربعة أنواع فريدة من نوعها الملكية، بما في ذلك: التعاونيات (coops)، الوحدات السكنية (الشقق)، والمنازل (أو الأحجار البنية) والشقق. مانهاتن العقارات تتكون من ما يقرب من 25 ٪ من الشقق ، 70 ٪ أقفاص و 5 ٪ condops والمنازل. في ميامي، هناك نوعان فقط من الممتلكات: الشقق والمنازل القائمة بذاتها. وكيل العقارات جيدة سوف تعرف جميع الإيجابيات والسلبيات حول شراء شقة،حظيرة، كوندوب أو منزل قائم بذاته.  

الشقق

الوحدات السكنية هي ملكية عقارية ، مثل امتلاك منزل ، حيث يحمل المالك سند ملكية بموجب سند شقة ونسبة مئوية من مناطقها المشتركة. يدفع المالكون ضرائب عقارية للمدينة ورسومشهرية في شكل رسوم مشتركة لمجلس الشقة، الذي يشرف على تشغيل الشقة. يمكن الحصول على التمويل التقليدي لشراء الشقة مع دفعة مقدمة بنسبة 20٪ في معظم الحالات للمقيمين في الولايات المتحدة ودفعة مقدمة بنسبة 30٪ للمواطنين الأجانب.

بالنسبة للكثيرين ، فإن إيجابيات شراء وحدة الشقة تفوق السلبيات. بشكل عام ، تسمح الشقق للمالكين بتأجير شققهم من الباطن مع قيود قليلة. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تسمح الشقق بتملك الأجانب، ولديها قيود أقل، وتتطلب مدفوعات مقدمة أقل، وأسهل من الأقفاص للتمويل. تم بناء معظم الشقق في السنوات الثلاثين الماضية وتشمل العديد من وسائل الراحة التي يتوقعها المالكون الحاليون والمستأجرين ، بما في ذلك مراكز اللياقة البدنية وحمامات السباحة والصالات ، إلخ. لم يتم العثور على هذه المرافق في معظم الأقفاص. كل هذه الميزات تجعل الشقة أكثر قابلية للتسويق ، مما يزيد من قابليتها للبيع. تضم شقق مدينة نيويورك 25٪ فقط من إجمالي العقارات السكنية المعروضة للبيع في مانهاتن. هذا القيد العرض واستصواب الشقق الجديدة التي لديها العديد من وسائل الراحة جعل الشقق أكثر تكلفة من الأقفاص.

آخر نقطة بيع كبيرة لمانهاتن الشقق هي التخفيضات الضريبية التي يقدم بعضها مثل 421G و 421A تخفيض الضرائب. في 70، أطلقت المدينة برنامجا لتحفيز المطورين للبناء على الأراضي الشاغرة في حين تلقي إعفاء 10 سنوات على دفع الضرائب. مشتري المنازل والمستثمرين الذين اشتروا وحدات في شقة مع تخفيض الضرائب سوف تستفيد أيضا من هذه الإعفاءات الضريبية 10 سنوات. رأينا مؤخرا عودة هذه التخفيضات الضريبية على حفنة من الشقق مانهاتن ويمكنك معرفة المزيد على بلوق أدناه:

ذات صلة: "عودة وزوال تخفيض الضرائب لمدة 20 عاما"

ولذلك، ينبغي للمستثمرين والمشترين الأجانب أن يركزوا عمليات البحث عن ممتلكاتهم على الشقق.

خلاصة القول، الشقق السكنية هي / لديها:

  • قيود قليلة

  • المستثمر ودية

  • سهولة الحصول على التمويل

  • المشترين الأجانب المحترفين

 

شقق مدينة نيويورك للبيع

 

اقفاص

التعاونيات (أو التعاونيات) هي المباني التي تملكها الشركات التي تبيع أسهم الأسهم في شركة للمساهمين مقابل عقود إيجار طويلة الأجل مملوكة. يسمح عقد الإيجار الخاص للمساهم الذي يشتري حصة باستخدام شقة معينة في مبنى حظيرة. وكلما كانت الشقة التعاونية أكبر، كلما زاد عدد الأسهم التي سيحصل عليها المساهم وكلما زادت تكاليف الصيانة التي سيدفعها المساهم. يتم دفع رسوم الصيانة للشركة وتشمل جميع نفقات البناء ، بما في ذلك الضرائب العقارية وفوائد الرهن العقاري إذا كانت الشركة تحتفظ برهن عقاري على المبنى. نسبيا، ويحظر المباني الشقة من الحصول على الرهون العقارية، لذلك لا يمكن أن تشمل رسوم الشقة HOA فوائد الرهن العقاري.

هناك العديد من الايجابيات حظيرة وسلبيات لشراء شقة تعاونية. أولاً، عادة ما تكون الشقق السكنية أكثر تكلفة من الأقفاص لأن التعاونيات أكبر سناً وتمثل 70% من السوق. بيد أن التعاونيات يمكن أن تشكل أي قواعد يريدونها ويجب على حملة أسهمها الالتزام بتلك القواعد. وبموجب الملكية التعاونية، يُطلب من حملة الأسهم عموماً شغل شققهم كمقر إقامة أساسي. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، لدى الأقفاص قواعد تحد بشدة من عقود الإيجار من الباطن أو تحظرها ، لذلك حذار المستثمرين أن لا تعتبر تعاونية استثمارًا جيدًا.

واحدة مشتركة تعاونيّة عمل نيويورك قاعدة الحظر من امتلاك أجنبيّة. وبوجه عام، تحظر التعاونيات المشترين الأجانب لأنه قد يصبح من المستحيل مقاضاة مواطن أجنبي يملك الجزء الأكبر من أصوله ومصادر دخله خارج الولايات المتحدة.  وحتى لو حصلت الشركة التعاونية على حكم ضد مالك أجنبي، فمن المرجح أن يكون غير قابل للتحصيل إذا كانت أصول المالك تقع على بعد 000 4 ميل في بلد آخر.

يتطلب تمويل شقة تعاونية استخدام قرض شخصي بدلاً من الرهن العقاري. ستقوم الشركة التعاونية بإملاء مبلغ سعر الشراء الذي يمكن تمويله، أي ما يعادل 50٪ - 75٪ من قيمة العقار. كما هو الحال مع الرهن العقاري ، والفائدة على القرض الشخصي هو خصم لأغراض الضرائب. إحدى السمات المشتركة للأقفاص هي ضريبة الوجه ، بشكل عام 2-3٪ من سعر بيع الشقة ، التي يدفعها البائع إلى الشركة التعاونية عند بيع شقة. يجب إجراء مقابلات مع المالكين المحتملين (والمستأجرين، إذا سمح المجلس بذلك) من قبل مجلس إدارة كوب وتقديم الطلبات الرسمية إلى المجلس للموافقة عليها. هذه العملية يمكن أن تستغرق شهورا، وليس أسابيع، كما هو الحال مع الشقة. في حين أن الشقق تتطلب أيضًا طلبًا ، لا يتم إجراء مقابلات مع المشترين والمستأجرين من قبل مجلس الشقة وعملية الموافقة أسهل بكثير.

ذات الصلة: "الأسئلة الشائعة: شراء شقة في مدينة نيويورك"

Co op pros و cons تشمل ما يلي:

  • التقييديه

  • غير صديقة للمستثمرين

  • حظر الملكية الأجنبية

  • عادة ما يحظر أو يحد من عقود الإيجار من الباطن

  • يفضل ملكية المنازل الأولية

 

اتفاقية نيويورك COOPS للبيع

 

كوندوبس

يستخدم مصطلح كوندوب في الدوائر العقارية في مدينة نيويورك كحظيرة مع قواعد الشقة. من الناحية الفنية، ومع ذلك، يتم تعريف كوندوب كحظيرة السكنية التي باعت الطابق الأرضي كوحدة تجارية. في الممارسة العملية، ومع ذلك، يستخدم هذا المصطلح كمعنى حظيرة مع قواعد الشقة. بموجب قواعد الشقة ، تسمح condops بالتأجير من الباطن والملكية الأجنبية. وغالبا ما تقع المباني المبنية على عقود إيجار الأراضي في فئة كوندوب. يتطلب المبنى الذي لديه إيجار أرض من المالكين دفع الإيجار على الأرض الأساسية على مدى فترة طويلة ، عادة 99 عامًا (مثل العقارات في لندن). وعادة ما تجدد عقود الإيجار هذه، من الناحية العملية، قبل انتهاء عقد إيجار الأرض.

خلاصة القول، مبنى كوندوب هي / لديك:

  • قيود قليلة

  • المستثمر ودية

  • المشترين الأجانب المحترفين

 

الفرق بين الشقة والشقة

الفرق الرئيسي بين الشقة والشقة هو هيكل الملكية. الشقة هي عقار مستأجر تملكه شركة تعمل في مجال إدارة العقارات لتوليد إيرادات الإيجار. عموما، في مبنى سكني، جميع الوحدات هي نفسها والمالك هو نفسه. في المقابل ، الشقة هي مسكن خاص يمكن تأجيره للمستأجرين. عندما تستأجر شقة، المالك الفردي هو مالك العقار.  عندما تستأجر شقة، الشركة التي تملك المبنى هي مالك العقار. الشقق هي أعلى من حيث الجودة من المباني السكنية، كما يعيش العديد من أصحاب المنازل الأولية في المباني الشقة. للوهلة الأولى، قد تبدو العديد من وسائل الراحة في الشقق والمباني السكنية هي نفسها، ولكن من المرجح أن تجد إصدارات أكثر رقيًا مع الشقق السكنية، نظرًا لأن وسائل الراحة الأفضل تساعد على رفع قيم الممتلكات

 

تاون هاوس (والمنازل القائمة بذاتها)

امتلاك تاون هاوس، أو براونستون، كما يطلق على البعض، هو مثل امتلاك منزل عائلة واحدة. يحصل المالك على حق الملكية بموجب سند العمل وهو الطرف الوحيد المسؤول عن دفع الضرائب وصيانة المباني. كثير من الناس استخدام شروط تاون هاوس وبراونستون بالتبادل، ومع ذلك، يمكن أن يكون غنافي تاون هاوس في الطوب الأحمر، والحجر الجيري، والحجر الرملي البني، أو الخشب، في حين يتم غميد حجر البراون في الحجر الرملي البني.

منزل تاون هو مسكن متعدد الطوابق (مرفق أو منفصل) بني بالقرب من الشارع وتحجيمه على نحو مماثل للمنازل المحيطة به. مانهاتن لديها العديد من أنواع المنازل بما في ذلك الاتحادية، والنهضة اليونانية، والنهضة القوطية، الإيطالية، والأساليب المعمارية الإمبراطورية الثانية من أوائل ومنتصف القرن التاسع عشر، فضلا عن العصر الجديد Grec، الرومانية، إحياء النهضة، وأنماط النهضة الاستعمارية الأمريكية. تاون هاوس (والمنازل القائمة بذاتها).

الشقة مقابل COOP مدينة نيويورك

 

تاون هاوس لأسرة واحدة أو متعددة العائلات

المشتري تاون هاوس لديه خيارين – تاون هاوس عائلة واحدة أو تاون هاوس متعددة الأسر. يعتمد تحديد اختيار المالك على احتياجات المالك للحرية والخصوصية ، حيث سيقدم الأول أقصى استفادة من كل منها. شراء أسرة متعددة، ومع ذلك، يمكن أن تجعل ملكية المنازل أكثر بأسعار معقولة كما مالك سوف جمع الإيجار من المستأجرين.

إحصاءات تاون هاوس لمانهاتن في عام 2010

مدينة نيويورك تاون هاوس تمثل 3٪ فقط من مبيعات العقارات في مانهاتن، حيث كان هناك 196 معاملة فقط. وكان متوسط سعر البيع لمانهاتن على نطاق واحد عائلة تاون هاوس 7948000 $ مع متوسط حجم 4909 قدم مربع أو 1619 دولارا للقدم المربع (أو 17428 دولارا لكل طن متري مربع). بالنسبة لسوق الرفاهية ، أعلى 10 ٪ من جميع المبيعات ، كان متوسط سعر البيع لتاون هاوس ذات الأسرة الواحدة على نطاق مانهاتن 18،130،000 دولار مقابل 8914 قدم مربع ، أو 2034 دولارًا أمريكيًا لكل قدم مربع (أو 21893 دولارًا أمريكيًا لكل طن مربع).

العوامل الأساسية التي تؤثر على قيمة تاون هاوس

العوامل الأساسية التي توفر قيمة لتاون هاوس هي 1) ما إذا كان هناك مستأجرين قائمين للتحكم في الإيجار أم لا ، 2) الموقع ، 3) حالة المبنى ، و 4) واجهة ، أو عرض المبنى.

التحكم في الإيجار

إذا قررت السير في الطريق متعدد العائلات، تذكر أن مدينة نيويورك لديها ضوابط إيجار هائلة على مستوى المدينة (أو ضوابط الأسعار) التي قد تنطبق إذا كان هناك ست وحدات أو أكثر في المبنى.  وسيكون من الحكمة للمشتري أن يبتعد عن المباني التي تسيطر على الإيجار أو المستأجرين المستقرين للإيجار منذ أن نقلت الملكية إلى المالكين الجدد، فتفعل ذلك جميع ضوابط الإيجار. من المرجح أن المالك الجديد لن يتمكن من طرد مستأجري العقار إذا قرر المالك إنشاء منزل عائلة واحدة. التحكم في الإيجار يفضل المستأجر ، لذلك يجب أن يعرف الملاك هذه القواعد من الداخل والخارج.  عند البحث عن منازل مدينة نيويورك ، يجب على المشترين البحث عن المباني التي تحتوي على مستأجرين "سعر السوق" أو "السوق الحرة". وهذا لا يعني أن المستثمر لا ينبغي أبدا شراء عقار مع المستأجرين مراقبة الإيجار. ومع ذلك ، يجب أن يعرف المستثمر أن حريته ستكون مقيدة بشدة بموجب قوانين مراقبة الإيجار في مدينة نيويورك ، وبالتالي ، من المرجح أيضًا أن تكون قيمة العقار ضعيفة إذا كان مستأجرو مراقبة الإيجار في مكانهم.

ذات الصلة: "الانتقال إلى مدينة نيويورك - دليل تأجير الشقق"

الموقع والموقع والموقع

يتم تقييم منازل مدينة نيويورك على أساس الكتلة التي هم عليها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يؤثر تكوين كل كتلة على القيمة ، نظرًا لوجود قيمة أكثر في كتلة تحتوي على صفوف من Townhouses دون انقطاع من كتلة مع بناء كبير صفعة الداب في منتصف الكتلة التي تقاطع الاستمرارية. على كل من Upper East Side و Upper West Side ، فإن أغلى تاون هاوس عموما تلك الكتل المجاورة لحديقة سنترال في 60s و 70s. على Upper West Side ، تاون هاوس التي هي على كتل مجاورة لحديقة ريفرسايد في 70s و 80s هي أكثر تكلفة من تلك المجاورة لوسط بارك في 80s و 90s. على Upper East Side ، تاون هاوس على كتل مجاورة لبارك أفنيو في 60s، 70s، 80s و 90s هي أكثر تكلفة من تاون هاوس المتبقية في المنطقة.

حالة المبنى

تم بناء معظم منازل مدينة نيويورك في القرن التاسععشر ، لذلك فهي أقدم المباني في المدينة. وبناء على ذلك، سيتعين على المشتري أن يقرر مقدار التجديد وإعادة التشكيل الذي هو أو هي على استعداد لجعل في الحصول على تاون هاوس في حالة لتلبية احتياجات المشتري. في حين تم ترميم العديد من المنازل بالكامل أو تجديدها ، لم يتم ترميم العديد منهم.

واجهه

عموما، واجهة، أو عرض المبنى، له تأثير كبير على قيمة تاون هاوس. المشتري سوف يدفع أكثر من ذلك بكثير لتاون هاوس 24 قدما واسعة من لتاون هاوس 15 قدما واسعة، كل شيء على قدم المساواة، بما في ذلك لقطات مربع مجموع. إذا كنت تريد منا أن نعد البحث عن تاون هاوس بالنسبة لك، يرجى الذهاب إلى بحثنا مصممة خصيصا.

خلاصة، تاون هومز:

  • لا توجد قيود

  • صديقة للمستثمرين

 

تاون هاوس للبيع

 

كوندو vs تاون هاوس

منزل تاون هاوس يشير إلى نمط البناء. المنازل عادة ما يكون ما لا يقل عن 2 قصص وترتبط بعضها البعض في صف واحد. في حين أنه مثل منزل ، حيث يملك المالك الهيكل والأرض ، فإنه ليس قائما بذاته. يتقاسم تاون هاوس جدارًا أو أكثر مع وحدات أخرى مملوكة بشكل مستقل. يتم تحديد تكاليف الصيانة للمنزل من قبل جمعية أصحاب المنازل في المجتمع. في المقابل، مبنى الشقة هو مبنى مع وحدة منفصلة مملوكة من قبل الأفراد المقيمين. يمتلك السكان ويحافظون على الجزء الداخلي من وحدتهم، لكنهم لا يملكون مباشرة العقار الذي يقع عليه المبنى. 

ذات صلة: "أسعار تاون هاوس ارتفعت مرتين أسرع من الشقق"

 

عودة قصر العائلة الواحدة

يشتري المستثمرون المباني السكنية في مدينة نيويورك ويحولونها مرة أخرى إلى منازل ذات عائلة واحدة. مانهاتن تاون هاوس مدينة نيويورك المبيعات ، على وجه الخصوص ، أصبحت شعبية متزايدة. وفي السنوات الثلاث الماضية، تم شراء وحدات أسرية منفردة إلى ثلاث وحدات ثلاث مرات أكثر مما تم شراؤه في السنوات الثلاث السابقة مجتمعة. ولكن لماذا يحدث هذا؟ يبدو أن العقارات الفاخرة تغيير الأيدي بين المستثمرين الأثرياء هو أكثر ربحية من التعامل مع مبيعات أصغر من صاحب المنزل العادي، الذي هو شراء العقارات لأسباب مختلفة تماما.

المشترين على المدى الطويل يجدون صعوبة في العثور على منزل عائلة واحدة في مانهاتن أنهم يخلقون الخاصة بهم. ومن المفارقات أن العديد من هذه المنازل كانت في البداية منازل ذات عائلة واحدة لتبدأ. الآن ، يستثمر أصحاب المنازل الملايين لتجديد وإعادة بنائها إلى تخطيطاتهم الأصلية من دولتهم الحالية متعددة العائلات. وهذا غالبا ما ينطوي على إعادة السباكة, الأسلاك وتمزيق الجدران وضعت في بعد وقوعها.

وكلاء العقارات في مانهاتن يقدرون أن متوسط تاون هاوس الكامل في Upper West Side يكلف ما يقرب من 10 مليون دولار. ويمكن أن تعيد لهم التجديدات لإعادة المبنى إلى تخطيطه الأولي مبلغ إضافي قدره 3 إلى 5 ملايين دولار.

على الجانب الآخر ، أصبحت الإيجارات متعددة العائلات أكثر شعبية في المدينة. ولا تزال بيئة العمل بعد عام 2008 غير مؤكدة، مما يعني أن عدداً أكبر وعدداً من الناس يستأجرون، وأحياناً مع عدة أسر أخرى. هذا ليس السيناريو المثالي للمالك. مع كل عضو جديد على العقد ، واحتمالات الإيجار التي تضيع ، أو المشاكل الناشئة الزيادات. في ضوء سوق الإيجار الهش ، تصبح فكرة تأجير الوحدات الفردية في منزل المرء أقل جاذبية ، وربما تشير إلى سبب اختيار المزيد من المالكين لتحويل المنازل متعددة العائلات إلى مساكن فردية ، وتقديم الطعام حصريًا إلى سوق الرفاهية في مانهاتن ، بدلاً من عامة السكان.

إنه شيء واحد لامتلاك مسكن لعائلتك لوضع جذورها ، وآخر لتحليل الوضع الحالي لسوق الإسكان من حيث إمكانية الإيجار وسهولة إعادة البيع على الطريق. مع الإيجارات متعددة الأسر أصبحت أكثر شعبية، يبدو أن التجديدات لتحويل إلى منزل عائلة واحدة قد يكون جيدا يستحق الاستثمار.


 

الآن ، نأمل ، عليك الآن فهم الفرق بين co op مقابل المباني الشقة ، تاون هاوس مقابل الشقة ، فضلا عن نوع آخر من الخصائص المتاحة في مدينة نيويورك وميامي.

 

بيع منزلك

جدولة شخص
اجتماع مع فريقنا

جدولة اجتماع

هل أحتاج إلى سمسار عقارات؟

CO OP VS CONDO

DETERMINE THE TYPE OF PROPERTY TO BUY
 

REQUEST A MEETING

Before beginning a property search, buyers should understand the different types of property that are available for sale in their market. For instance, Manhattan has four unique property types, including: cooperatives (co ops), condominiums (condos), townhouses (or brownstones) and condops. Manhattan real estate is composed of approximately 25% condos, 70% coops and 5% condops and townhouses. In Miami, there are only two property types: condos and free-standing homes. A good real estate agent will know all the pros and cons about buying a condo, coop, condop or free-standing home.  

CONDOS

A condominium is real property, like owning a home, in which the owner holds title by deed of an apartment and a percentage of its common areas. Owners pay property taxes to the city and monthly fees in the form of common charges to the Condo Board, which oversees the operation of the Condo. Traditional financing can be obtained for Condo purchases with a 20% down payment in most cases for U.S. residents and a 30% down payment for foreign nationals.

For many, the pros of buying a condo unit will outweigh the cons. Purchasing a condominium is much more democratic than purchasing a coop, as condos are much less restrictive and open to anybody who has funds to buy one. Generally, condos allow owners to sublease their apartments with few restrictions. In addition, condos allow for foreign ownership, have fewer restrictions, require lower down payments, and are easier than coops to finance. Most condos have been built in the last 30 years and include many amenities that current owners and tenants expect, including fitness centers, swimming pools, lounges, etc. These amenities are not found in most coops. All these features make a condo more marketable, increasing its saleability. NYC condos comprise only 25% of total residential properties for sale in Manhattan. This supply constraint and the desirability of new condos that have many amenities make condos more expensive than coops.

Another big selling point for Manhattan Condos are the tax deductions that some of them offers like the 421G and 421A tax abatement. In the 70’s, the city launched a program to incentive developers to build on vacant lots while receiving 10 year exemption on paying taxes. Homebuyers and investors who bought units in a condo with tax abatement would also benefit  from these 10 year tax breaks. Recently we saw the return of these tax abatements on a handful of Manhattan condos and you can learn more on the blog below:

“The Return and Demise of the 20 Year Tax Abatement in The Manhattan Condo Market”

Investors and foreign buyers, therefore, should focus their property searches on condos.

To recap, condos are/have:

  • Few restrictions

  • Investor friendly

  • Easily access financing

  • Pro foreign buyers

 

Manhattan Condos For Sale

 

COOPS

Coops (or Cooperatives) are buildings owned by corporations that sell shares of stock in a corporation to shareholders in return for long-term proprietary leases. The proprietary lease allows a shareholder to use a particular apartment in the coop building. The larger the apartment, the more shares the shareholder will hold and the higher share of maintenance costs the shareholder will pay. Maintenance charges are paid to the corporation and include all the building expenses, including real estate taxes and mortgage interest if the corporation holds a mortgage on the building. Comparatively, condo buildings are prohibited from obtaining mortgages, so condo HOA fees can never include mortgage interest.

There are many coop pros and cons to buying a co op. First, cooperatives will have a lower purchase price than condos because they are older and they represent 70% of the market. Coops, however, can make up any rules they want and their shareholders must adhere to those rules. Under cooperative ownership, shareholders are generally required to occupy their apartments as their primary residence. In addition, coops have rules sharply limiting or prohibiting subleases, so investors should not be looking at Coops as a viable investment.

One common co op New York rule is the prohibition of foreign ownership. Generally, coops prohibit foreign buyers since it may become impossible to sue a foreign national who has the bulk of their assets and sources of income outside of the United State.  Even if the cooperative corporation obtained a judgment against a foreign owner, it would likely be uncollectible if the owner’s assets were sitting 4,000 miles away in another country.

Financing of a Coop requires using a personal loan rather than a mortgage. The cooperative corporation will dictate the amount of purchase price that can be financed, equal to 50% - 75% of the property value. As with a mortgage, interest on the personal loan is deductible for tax purposes. One common feature of coops is a flip tax, generally 2-3% of the sale price of the apartment, paid by the seller to the cooperative corporation upon the sale of an apartment. Potential owners (and tenants, if allowed by the Board) must be interviewed by the Coop Board of Directors and present formal applications to the Board for approval. This process can take months, not weeks, as with a condo. While condos also require an application, buyers and renters are not interviewed by the condo board.

Co op pros and cons include the following:

  • Restrictive

  • Not investor friendly

  • Prohibit foreign ownership

  • Usually prohibits or limit subleases

  • Prefer primary homeownership


CONDOPS

The term condop is used in new york city real estate circles as a coop with condo rules. Technically, however, a condop is defined as a residential coop that has sold its ground floor as a commercial unit. In practice, however, the term is used as meaning a coop with condo rules. Under condo rules, condops allow subleases and foreign ownership. Often buildings built on land leases will fall in the Condop category. A building with a land lease requires owners to pay rent on the underlying land over a long period, usually 99 years (like property in London). These leases, in practice, are usually renewed before the land lease expires.

To recap, a Condop building are/have:

  • Few restrictions

  • Investor friendly

  • Pro foreign buyers

 

Difference Between Condo and Apartment

The main difference between a condo and apartment is the ownership structure. An apartment is a rental property that is owned by a company that is in the business of managing property to generate rental income. Generally, in an apartment building, all the units are the same and the owner is the same. In contrast, a condo is a private residence that can be rented out to tenants. When you rent a condo, the individual owner is your landlord.  When you rent an apartment, the company that owns the building is your landlord. Condos  are higher in quality than apartment buildings, as many primary homeowners live in condo buildings. At first glance, many the amenities in condo and apartment buildings may seem the same, but you are more likely to find more upscale versions with condos, since better amenities help raise property values

 

TOWNHOUSES (AND FREE-STANDING HOMES)

Owning a Townhouse, or Brownstone, as some are called, is like owning a single family home. The owner receives title by deed and is the sole party responsible for paying taxes and building maintenance. Many people use the terms of Townhouse and Brownstone interchangeably, however, a Townhouse can be sheathed in red brick, limestone, brown sandstone, or wood, whereas a Brownstone is sheathed in brown sandstone.

A Town house is a multi-story dwelling (attached or detached) built close to the street and scaled similarly to surrounding houses. Manhattan has many types of Townhouses including Federal, Greek Revival, Gothic Revival, Italianate, and Second Empire architectural styles of the early- and mid-nineteenth century, as well as the Neo Grec, Romanesque, Renaissance Revival, and American Colonial Revival styles. Townhouses (and Freestanding Homes).

condo vs townhouse

 

SINGLE-FAMILY OR MULTI-FAMILY TOWNHOUSE

A Townhouse buyer has two options – a single-family Townhouse or multi-family Townhouse. Deciding which to choose will depend upon the owner’s needs for freedom and privacy, as the former would offer the most of each. Buying a multi-family, however, can make homeownership more affordable as an owner will collect rent from tenants.

TOWNHOUSE STATISTICS FOR MANHATTAN IN 2010

New York City Townhouses account for only 3% of property sales in Manhattan, as there were only 196 transactions. The average sale price for a Manhattan-wide single-family Townhouse was $7,948,000 with an average size of 4,909 sq. ft. or $1,619 per sq. ft. (or $17,428 per sq. mt.). For the luxury market, the top 10% of all sales, the average sale price for a Manhattan-wide single-family Townhouse was $18,130,000 for 8,914 sq. ft., or $2,034 per sq. ft. (or $21,893 per sq. mt.).

PRIMARY FACTORS THAT IMPACT THE VALUE OF A TOWNHOUSE

The primary factors that provide value to a Townhouse are 1) whether or not there are existing rent-control tenants, 2) location, 3) the condition of the building, and 4) frontage, or width of the building.

RENT CONTROL

If you decide to go the multi-family route, remember that New York City has formidable citywide rent controls (or price controls) that may apply if there are six or more units in the building.  It would be wise for a buyer to steer clear of buildings with rent control or rent-stabilized tenants in place since once the property transfers to the new owners, so do all the rent controls. The new owner likely won’t be able to evict tenants of the property if the owner decides to make a single-family home. Rent Control favors the tenant, so landlords must know these rules inside and out.  In searching for New York City townhouses, buyers should search for buildings with “Market Rate”  or “Free Market” tenants. That is not to say that an investor should never purchase a property with rent control tenants. However, the investor must know that his freedom will be severely restricted by NYC rent control laws and, therefore, the value of the property will also likely be impaired if rent control tenants are in place.

Moving to NYC - Apartment Rental Guide

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

New York City Townhouses are valued based on which block they are on. In addition, each block’s configuration impacts value, since there is more perceived value in a block that has rows of uninterrupted Townhouses than a block with a large building smack-dab in the middle of the block that is interrupting continuity. On both the Upper East Side and Upper West Side, the most expensive Townhouses are generally those blocks adjacent to Central Park in the 60s and 70s. On the Upper West Side, Townhouses that are on blocks adjacent to Riverside Park in the 70s and 80s are more expensive than those adjacent to Central Park in the 80s and 90s. On the Upper East Side, Townhouses on blocks adjacent to Park Avenue in the 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s are more expensive than the remaining Townhouses in the area.

CONDITION OF THE BUILDING

Most New York City Townhouses were built in the 19th Century, so they are the oldest buildings in the city. Accordingly, a buyer will have to decide how much renovation and reconfiguration that he or she is willing to make in getting the Townhouse in condition to meet the buyer’s needs. While many Townhouses have been completely restored or renovated, many have not.

FRONTAGE

Generally, frontage, or width of the building, has a great impact on the value of a Townhouse. A buyer would pay much more for a 24-foot-wide Townhouse than for 15-foot-wide Townhouse, all things being equal, including the total square footage. If you want us to prepare a search of Townhouses for you, please go to our Tailored Search.

To recap, townhomes:

  • No Restrictions

  • Investor Friendly

 

Condo vs Townhouse

A townhouse refers to the style of construction. Townhouses usually have at least 2 stories and are connected to one another in a row. While it is like a house, where the owner owns the structure and the land, it is not free standing. A townhouse shares one or more walls with other independently owned units. Maintenance costs for the home is determined by the community's homeowners association. In contrast, a condo building is a building with separate unit owned by individual residents. Residents own and maintain the interior of their unit, but don't directly own the property on which the building sits. 

 

The Return of the Single Family Mansion

Investors are buying up apartment buildings in NYC and converting them back into single-family homes. Manhattan townhouse NYC sales, in particular, are becoming increasingly popular. In the last three years more single to triple family units have been bought than in the previous three years combined. But why is this happening? It appears that luxury real estate changing hands amongst wealthy investors is more profitable than dealing with smaller sales from the ordinary homeowner, who is buying property for completely different reasons.

Long-term buyers are finding it so difficult to find a single-family home in Manhattan that they are creating their own. Ironically, many of these townhouses were initially single-family homes to begin with. Now, buyers are investing millions to renovate and re-build them back to their original layouts from their current multi-family state. This often involves redoing the plumbing, wiring and tearing out walls placed in after the fact.

Manhattan real estate agents estimate that the average complete townhouse in the Upper West Side costs approximately $10 million. Renovations to revert the building to its initial layout can set them back an additional $3 million to $5 million.

On the flip side, multi-family rentals are becoming more popular in the city. The post 2008 employment environment is still uncertain, meaning that more and more people are renting, sometimes with several other families. It is not the ideal scenario for an owner. With every new member on the contract, the odds of rent being missed, or problems arising increases. In light of a tenuous rental market, the idea of renting out individual units in one’s townhouse becomes less appealing, perhaps indicating why more owners are opting to convert multi-family townhouses into single dwellings, and catering exclusively to the luxury market in Manhattan, as opposed to the general population.

It is one thing to own a residence for your family to put down roots, and another to analyze the current status of the housing market in terms of the rental potential and ease of resale down the road. With multi-family rentals becoming more popular, it looks like the renovations to convert to a single-family home may be well worth the investment.


 

Now, hopefully, you'll now understand the difference between co op vs condo buildings, as well as other type of properties available in NYC and Miami.

 

Selling Your Home

SCHEDULE AN IN-PERSON
MEETING WITH OUR TEAM

SCHEDULE A MEETING

Do I need a Realtor?