合作经营与公寓的区别

定购房型
 

求见

在开始寻找房产之前,购房者应该先了解一下自己市场上有哪些不同类型的房产可供出售。例如,曼哈顿有四种独特的房产类型,包括:合作社(coops)、公寓(coups)、联排别墅(coups)、联排别墅(或brownstones)和公寓。曼哈顿的房地产大约由25%的公寓、70%的coopops和5%的公寓和联排别墅组成。在迈阿密,只有两种房产类型:公寓和独立式住宅。一个好的房地产经纪人会知道购买公寓、coop、cop、condo或独立屋的所有利弊。  

CONDOS

共管公寓是一种不动产,就像拥有房屋一样,业主通过契约拥有公寓的所有权和一定比例的公共区域。业主需要向城市缴纳物业税,每月向公寓管理委员会(Condo Board)缴纳公共费用,由其监督公寓的运营。传统的融资方式,美国居民购买Condo可以获得传统的融资,大多数情况下,美国居民首付20%,外国人首付30%。

对于很多人来说,购买公寓单位利大于弊。购买公寓比购买合作公寓要民主得多,因为公寓的限制要少得多,有资金的人都可以购买。一般情况下,公寓允许业主将公寓转租,几乎没有什么限制。此外,公寓允许外国人拥有,限制较少,首付较低,而且比合作公寓更容易融资。大多数公寓都是在过去30年内建成的,包括很多现在的业主和租客所期望的设施,包括健身中心、游泳池、休息室等。这些设施是大多数公寓所不具备的。所有这些功能都使公寓更有市场,增加了它的可售性。纽约市的公寓只占曼哈顿待售住宅物业总量的25%。这种供应量的限制和新公寓的可取性使得公寓的价格比合作公寓更贵。

曼哈顿公寓的另一大卖点是部分公寓提供的减税优惠,如421G和 421A减税.在70年代,该市推出了一个项目,鼓励开发商在空地上建房,同时享受10年的免税优惠。购房者和投资者在购买了减税的公寓单位后,也会从这10年的减税优惠中受益。最近,我们在曼哈顿的一些公寓上看到了这些减税政策的回归,你可以在下面的博客上了解更多。

相关的。"减税20年的回归与消亡"

因此,投资者和外国买家应将房产搜索的重点放在公寓上。

简而言之,公寓是/有。

  • 极少限制

  • 投资者友好型

  • 轻松获得融资

  • 专业的外国买家

 

纽约市公寓出售

 

COOPS

合作社(或合作社)是由公司拥有的建筑物,将公司的股票出售给股东,以换取长期的专有租赁。专有租约允许购买股份的股东使用合作社大楼中的特定公寓。合作公寓的面积越大,股东持有的股份越多,股东支付的维护费用份额也越高。维修费是支付给公司的,包括所有的建筑费用,包括房地产税和按揭利息(如果公司持有该建筑的按揭)。相对而言,公寓楼是禁止获得抵押贷款的,所以公寓HOA费用永远不能包括抵押贷款利息。

买合作公寓有很多合作社的优点和缺点。首先,公寓通常比合作社贵,因为合作社的历史比较悠久,而且它们占市场的70%。然而,合作社可以制定任何他们想要的规则,他们的股东必须遵守这些规则。在合作社的所有权下,股东通常被要求将其公寓作为他们的主要住所。此外,合作社有规则严格限制或禁止转租,所以投资者要小心,合作社不是一个好的投资。

纽约的一项共同经营规则是禁止外国所有权。一般来说,合作公司禁止外国买家,因为如果外国人的大部分资产和收入来源都在美国以外,就不可能起诉他们。 即使合作公司获得了对外国所有者的判决,但如果所有者的资产在4000英里以外的另一个国家,则很可能无法收回。

合作公寓的融资需要使用个人贷款而不是抵押贷款。合作社公司将规定可以融资的购房价格金额,相当于房产价值的50%-75%。与抵押贷款一样,个人贷款的利息可以抵税。合作社的一个共同特点是翻转税,通常是公寓售价的2-3%,由卖方在出售公寓时支付给合作公司。潜在的业主(以及租户,如果董事会允许的话)必须接受合作社董事会的面试,并向董事会提交正式申请,以获得批准。这个过程可能需要几个月的时间,而不是像公寓那样需要几周的时间。虽然公寓也需要申请,但买家和租客不需要接受公寓董事会的面试,审批过程要简单得多。

相关的。"常见问题。纽约市购买公寓"

合作行动的利弊包括以下几点:

  • 限制性的

  • 对投资者不友好

  • 禁止外国所有权

  • 通常禁止或限制转租

  • 倾向于主要的房屋所有权

 

纽约市的合作社

 

CONDOPS

在纽约市的房地产界,condop这个词是指有公寓规则的coop。然而,从技术上讲,condop的定义是指将其底层作为商业单位出售的住宅合作社。但在实践中,这个词被用来指的是有公寓规则的合作社。根据共管公寓的规则,共管公寓允许转租和外国所有权。通常情况下,以土地租赁方式建造的建筑将属于Condop的范畴。有土地租赁的建筑,要求业主在很长的时间内支付基础土地的租金,通常是99年(像伦敦的房产)。在实践中,这些租约通常在土地租约到期前续期。

简而言之,Condop大楼有:

  • 极少限制

  • 投资者友好型

  • 专业的外国买家

 

公寓和公寓的区别

公寓和公寓的主要区别在于所有权结构。公寓是一种出租物业,是由物业管理公司经营管理物业,以获得租金收入。一般来说,在公寓里,所有的单位都是一样的,业主也是一样的。而公寓则是可以出租给租客的私人住宅。当你租公寓时,个人业主就是你的房东。 当你租公寓时,业主是你的房东。公寓的质量要比公寓楼高,因为很多主业主都住在公寓楼里。乍一看,公寓楼和公寓楼的很多设施可能看起来都是一样的,但你更有可能找到更高档的公寓,因为更好的设施有助于提高物业价值。

 

联排别墅

拥有Townhouse,也就是有些人所说的Brownstone,就像拥有一栋独栋住宅一样。业主通过地契获得所有权,并独自负责缴税和建筑维护。许多人交替使用Townhouse和Brownstone的术语,但是,Townhouse可以用红砖、石灰石、棕色砂岩或木质材料,而Brownstone则是棕色砂岩。

镇屋是一种靠近街道的多层住宅(附设或独立式),与周围的房屋比例相似。曼哈顿有许多类型的联排别墅,包括联邦式、希腊复兴式、哥特式复兴式、意大利式和第二帝国时期的建筑风格,以及新格莱克式、罗马式、文艺复兴式和美式殖民复兴式等。联排别墅(和独立式住宅)。

公寓VS纽约COOP

 

单户或多户联排别墅

购房者有两种选择--独栋别墅或多户式联排别墅。决定选择哪一种将取决于业主对自由度和私密性的需求,因为前者能提供最大的自由度和私密性。不过,购买多户型的Townhouse,可以让业主向租户收取租金,让业主更容易负担得起。

2010年曼哈顿的联排别墅统计

纽约市的联排别墅仅占曼哈顿房产销售量的3%,因为仅有196宗交易。曼哈顿范围内的单户型联排别墅的平均销售价格为794.8万美元,平均面积为4909平方英尺,即每平方英尺1,619美元(或每平方米17,428美元)。在豪宅市场,也就是所有销售量的前10%,曼哈顿范围内的独栋联排别墅的平均销售价格为8914平方英尺,即每平方英尺2034美元(或每平方米21893美元),为1813万美元。

影响联排别墅价值的主要因素

提供联排别墅价值的主要因素是:1)是否有现有的控租户,2)位置,3)建筑的状况,4)建筑的门面或宽度。

租金控制

如果您决定走多户型路线,请记住,纽约市有严格的全市性的租金管制(或价格管制),如果楼内有6个或更多的单位,可能会适用。 买家最好避开有租金管制或租金稳定的租户的建筑,因为一旦物业过户给新业主,所有的租金管制也会随之取消。如果新业主决定把房子做成单户住宅,新业主很可能无法驱逐租客。房租管制偏向于租客,所以房东必须对这些规则了如指掌。 在寻找纽约市的联排别墅时,购房者应该寻找有 "市场价 "或 "自由市场 "租户的建筑。这并不是说投资者永远不应该购买有租金管制租户的房产。但是,投资者必须知道,他的自由度将受到纽约市租金管制法的严重限制,因此,如果有租金管制租户,房产的价值也很可能会受到影响。

相关内容:"搬到纽约市租房指南"搬到纽约市--租房指南"

位置,位置,位置,位置

纽约市联排别墅的价值取决于它们所在的街区。此外,每个街区的配置都会影响价值,因为有一排排不间断的联排别墅的街区比有一栋大型建筑在街区中间的街区更有感知价值,因为它打断了街区的连续性。在Upper East Side 和 Upper West Side在,最贵的Townhouse一般是60和70年代毗邻中央公园的街区。在Upper West Side,70年代和80年代临近河滨公园的Townhouse比80年代和90年代临近中央公园的Townhouse要贵。在 Upper East Side毗邻公园大道的60、70、80和90年代街区的Townhouse比该地区其他Townhouse要贵。

建筑物的状况

纽约市的Townhouse大多建于19世纪,所以是城市中最古老的建筑。相应地,买家要决定自己愿意对Townhouse进行多少改造和重新配置,以使其符合买家的需求。虽然很多Townhouse已经完全修复或翻新,但也有很多没有。

前方

一般来说,建筑的门面宽度对联排别墅的价值有很大的影响。在所有条件相同的情况下,包括总面积在内,24英尺宽的联排别墅比15英尺宽的联排别墅的价格要高得多。如果你想让我们为你准备一个Townhouse的搜索,请到我们的定制搜索。

总结一下,城镇居民。

  • 无限制

  • 投资者友好型

 

联排别墅

 

公寓与联排别墅

联排别墅指的是建筑风格。联排别墅通常至少有2层,并且是一排排地连接在一起。虽然它像房子一样,业主拥有结构和土地,但它不是独立的。联排别墅与其他独立产权单位共用一堵或多堵墙。房屋的维护费用由社区的业主协会决定。相比之下,公寓式建筑是一栋有独立单元的建筑,由居民个人拥有。居民拥有并维护其单位的内部设施,但不直接拥有该楼的物业。 

相关的。"联排别墅房价涨幅是公寓的两倍"

 

独栋别墅的回归

投资者正在购买纽约市的公寓楼,并将其改造成单户住宅。尤其是曼哈顿的联排别墅纽约市的销售越来越受欢迎。在过去三年中,买入的单户到三户家庭单位的数量比前三年的总和还要多。但是,为什么会出现这种情况?看来,豪宅在有钱的投资者中转手似乎比处理普通房主的小规模销售更有利可图,因为他们购买房产的原因完全不同。

长期购房者发现在曼哈顿很难找到独栋别墅,于是他们开始创造自己的独栋别墅。具有讽刺意味的是,这些联排别墅中的许多一开始都是独栋别墅。现在,联排别墅的业主们投资数百万元,将它们从现在的多户型的状态,重新装修和重建成原来的布局。这往往涉及到重新铺设管道、布线和拆掉事后放置的墙壁。

曼哈顿房产中介根据《中国城市发展报告》的估计,平均每栋完整的联排别墅的成本约为1,000万美元。 Upper West Side翻新工程的费用约为1 000万美元。如果要将建筑恢复到最初的布局,则需要额外增加300万至500万美元的装修费用。

反过来说,多户人家的租房在城市里越来越受欢迎。2008年后的就业环境依然不明朗,这意味着越来越多的人开始租房,有时是和其他几个家庭一起租房。这对于一个业主来说,并不是最理想的情况。每增加一个新成员的合同,漏租或出现问题的几率就会增加。在租房市场疲软的情况下,将自己的联排别墅单独出租的想法变得不那么吸引人了,这或许说明了为什么越来越多的业主选择将多户型联排别墅改成独栋住宅,专门迎合曼哈顿的豪宅市场,而不是一般人。

拥有一套住宅让家人安家落户是一回事,分析目前的房市现状,从租赁潜力和下一步转售的难易程度来看,又是另一回事。随着多户型租房越来越流行,看来装修改造成独门独院或许是非常值得投资的。


 

现在,希望你现在能了解到纽约市和迈阿密的联合办公大楼与公寓楼、联排别墅与公寓的区别,以及其他类型的房产。

 

出售您的房屋

安排与我们的团队进行面谈

约见

我需要房地产经纪人吗?

CO OP VS CONDO

DETERMINE THE TYPE OF PROPERTY TO BUY
 

REQUEST A MEETING

Before beginning a property search, buyers should understand the different types of property that are available for sale in their market. For instance, Manhattan has four unique property types, including: cooperatives (co ops), condominiums (condos), townhouses (or brownstones) and condops. Manhattan real estate is composed of approximately 25% condos, 70% coops and 5% condops and townhouses. In Miami, there are only two property types: condos and free-standing homes. A good real estate agent will know all the pros and cons about buying a condo, coop, condop or free-standing home.  

CONDOS

A condominium is real property, like owning a home, in which the owner holds title by deed of an apartment and a percentage of its common areas. Owners pay property taxes to the city and monthly fees in the form of common charges to the Condo Board, which oversees the operation of the Condo. Traditional financing can be obtained for Condo purchases with a 20% down payment in most cases for U.S. residents and a 30% down payment for foreign nationals.

For many, the pros of buying a condo unit will outweigh the cons. Purchasing a condominium is much more democratic than purchasing a coop, as condos are much less restrictive and open to anybody who has funds to buy one. Generally, condos allow owners to sublease their apartments with few restrictions. In addition, condos allow for foreign ownership, have fewer restrictions, require lower down payments, and are easier than coops to finance. Most condos have been built in the last 30 years and include many amenities that current owners and tenants expect, including fitness centers, swimming pools, lounges, etc. These amenities are not found in most coops. All these features make a condo more marketable, increasing its saleability. NYC condos comprise only 25% of total residential properties for sale in Manhattan. This supply constraint and the desirability of new condos that have many amenities make condos more expensive than coops.

Another big selling point for Manhattan Condos are the tax deductions that some of them offers like the 421G and 421A tax abatement. In the 70’s, the city launched a program to incentive developers to build on vacant lots while receiving 10 year exemption on paying taxes. Homebuyers and investors who bought units in a condo with tax abatement would also benefit  from these 10 year tax breaks. Recently we saw the return of these tax abatements on a handful of Manhattan condos and you can learn more on the blog below:

“The Return and Demise of the 20 Year Tax Abatement in The Manhattan Condo Market”

Investors and foreign buyers, therefore, should focus their property searches on condos.

To recap, condos are/have:

  • Few restrictions

  • Investor friendly

  • Easily access financing

  • Pro foreign buyers

 

Manhattan Condos For Sale

 

COOPS

Coops (or Cooperatives) are buildings owned by corporations that sell shares of stock in a corporation to shareholders in return for long-term proprietary leases. The proprietary lease allows a shareholder to use a particular apartment in the coop building. The larger the apartment, the more shares the shareholder will hold and the higher share of maintenance costs the shareholder will pay. Maintenance charges are paid to the corporation and include all the building expenses, including real estate taxes and mortgage interest if the corporation holds a mortgage on the building. Comparatively, condo buildings are prohibited from obtaining mortgages, so condo HOA fees can never include mortgage interest.

There are many coop pros and cons to buying a co op. First, cooperatives will have a lower purchase price than condos because they are older and they represent 70% of the market. Coops, however, can make up any rules they want and their shareholders must adhere to those rules. Under cooperative ownership, shareholders are generally required to occupy their apartments as their primary residence. In addition, coops have rules sharply limiting or prohibiting subleases, so investors should not be looking at Coops as a viable investment.

One common co op New York rule is the prohibition of foreign ownership. Generally, coops prohibit foreign buyers since it may become impossible to sue a foreign national who has the bulk of their assets and sources of income outside of the United State.  Even if the cooperative corporation obtained a judgment against a foreign owner, it would likely be uncollectible if the owner’s assets were sitting 4,000 miles away in another country.

Financing of a Coop requires using a personal loan rather than a mortgage. The cooperative corporation will dictate the amount of purchase price that can be financed, equal to 50% - 75% of the property value. As with a mortgage, interest on the personal loan is deductible for tax purposes. One common feature of coops is a flip tax, generally 2-3% of the sale price of the apartment, paid by the seller to the cooperative corporation upon the sale of an apartment. Potential owners (and tenants, if allowed by the Board) must be interviewed by the Coop Board of Directors and present formal applications to the Board for approval. This process can take months, not weeks, as with a condo. While condos also require an application, buyers and renters are not interviewed by the condo board.

Co op pros and cons include the following:

  • Restrictive

  • Not investor friendly

  • Prohibit foreign ownership

  • Usually prohibits or limit subleases

  • Prefer primary homeownership


CONDOPS

The term condop is used in new york city real estate circles as a coop with condo rules. Technically, however, a condop is defined as a residential coop that has sold its ground floor as a commercial unit. In practice, however, the term is used as meaning a coop with condo rules. Under condo rules, condops allow subleases and foreign ownership. Often buildings built on land leases will fall in the Condop category. A building with a land lease requires owners to pay rent on the underlying land over a long period, usually 99 years (like property in London). These leases, in practice, are usually renewed before the land lease expires.

To recap, a Condop building are/have:

  • Few restrictions

  • Investor friendly

  • Pro foreign buyers

 

Difference Between Condo and Apartment

The main difference between a condo and apartment is the ownership structure. An apartment is a rental property that is owned by a company that is in the business of managing property to generate rental income. Generally, in an apartment building, all the units are the same and the owner is the same. In contrast, a condo is a private residence that can be rented out to tenants. When you rent a condo, the individual owner is your landlord.  When you rent an apartment, the company that owns the building is your landlord. Condos  are higher in quality than apartment buildings, as many primary homeowners live in condo buildings. At first glance, many the amenities in condo and apartment buildings may seem the same, but you are more likely to find more upscale versions with condos, since better amenities help raise property values

 

TOWNHOUSES (AND FREE-STANDING HOMES)

Owning a Townhouse, or Brownstone, as some are called, is like owning a single family home. The owner receives title by deed and is the sole party responsible for paying taxes and building maintenance. Many people use the terms of Townhouse and Brownstone interchangeably, however, a Townhouse can be sheathed in red brick, limestone, brown sandstone, or wood, whereas a Brownstone is sheathed in brown sandstone.

A Town house is a multi-story dwelling (attached or detached) built close to the street and scaled similarly to surrounding houses. Manhattan has many types of Townhouses including Federal, Greek Revival, Gothic Revival, Italianate, and Second Empire architectural styles of the early- and mid-nineteenth century, as well as the Neo Grec, Romanesque, Renaissance Revival, and American Colonial Revival styles. Townhouses (and Freestanding Homes).

condo vs townhouse

 

SINGLE-FAMILY OR MULTI-FAMILY TOWNHOUSE

A Townhouse buyer has two options – a single-family Townhouse or multi-family Townhouse. Deciding which to choose will depend upon the owner’s needs for freedom and privacy, as the former would offer the most of each. Buying a multi-family, however, can make homeownership more affordable as an owner will collect rent from tenants.

TOWNHOUSE STATISTICS FOR MANHATTAN IN 2010

New York City Townhouses account for only 3% of property sales in Manhattan, as there were only 196 transactions. The average sale price for a Manhattan-wide single-family Townhouse was $7,948,000 with an average size of 4,909 sq. ft. or $1,619 per sq. ft. (or $17,428 per sq. mt.). For the luxury market, the top 10% of all sales, the average sale price for a Manhattan-wide single-family Townhouse was $18,130,000 for 8,914 sq. ft., or $2,034 per sq. ft. (or $21,893 per sq. mt.).

PRIMARY FACTORS THAT IMPACT THE VALUE OF A TOWNHOUSE

The primary factors that provide value to a Townhouse are 1) whether or not there are existing rent-control tenants, 2) location, 3) the condition of the building, and 4) frontage, or width of the building.

RENT CONTROL

If you decide to go the multi-family route, remember that New York City has formidable citywide rent controls (or price controls) that may apply if there are six or more units in the building.  It would be wise for a buyer to steer clear of buildings with rent control or rent-stabilized tenants in place since once the property transfers to the new owners, so do all the rent controls. The new owner likely won’t be able to evict tenants of the property if the owner decides to make a single-family home. Rent Control favors the tenant, so landlords must know these rules inside and out.  In searching for New York City townhouses, buyers should search for buildings with “Market Rate”  or “Free Market” tenants. That is not to say that an investor should never purchase a property with rent control tenants. However, the investor must know that his freedom will be severely restricted by NYC rent control laws and, therefore, the value of the property will also likely be impaired if rent control tenants are in place.

Moving to NYC - Apartment Rental Guide

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION

New York City Townhouses are valued based on which block they are on. In addition, each block’s configuration impacts value, since there is more perceived value in a block that has rows of uninterrupted Townhouses than a block with a large building smack-dab in the middle of the block that is interrupting continuity. On both the Upper East Side and Upper West Side, the most expensive Townhouses are generally those blocks adjacent to Central Park in the 60s and 70s. On the Upper West Side, Townhouses that are on blocks adjacent to Riverside Park in the 70s and 80s are more expensive than those adjacent to Central Park in the 80s and 90s. On the Upper East Side, Townhouses on blocks adjacent to Park Avenue in the 60s, 70s, 80s and 90s are more expensive than the remaining Townhouses in the area.

CONDITION OF THE BUILDING

Most New York City Townhouses were built in the 19th Century, so they are the oldest buildings in the city. Accordingly, a buyer will have to decide how much renovation and reconfiguration that he or she is willing to make in getting the Townhouse in condition to meet the buyer’s needs. While many Townhouses have been completely restored or renovated, many have not.

FRONTAGE

Generally, frontage, or width of the building, has a great impact on the value of a Townhouse. A buyer would pay much more for a 24-foot-wide Townhouse than for 15-foot-wide Townhouse, all things being equal, including the total square footage. If you want us to prepare a search of Townhouses for you, please go to our Tailored Search.

To recap, townhomes:

  • No Restrictions

  • Investor Friendly

 

Condo vs Townhouse

A townhouse refers to the style of construction. Townhouses usually have at least 2 stories and are connected to one another in a row. While it is like a house, where the owner owns the structure and the land, it is not free standing. A townhouse shares one or more walls with other independently owned units. Maintenance costs for the home is determined by the community's homeowners association. In contrast, a condo building is a building with separate unit owned by individual residents. Residents own and maintain the interior of their unit, but don't directly own the property on which the building sits. 

 

The Return of the Single Family Mansion

Investors are buying up apartment buildings in NYC and converting them back into single-family homes. Manhattan townhouse NYC sales, in particular, are becoming increasingly popular. In the last three years more single to triple family units have been bought than in the previous three years combined. But why is this happening? It appears that luxury real estate changing hands amongst wealthy investors is more profitable than dealing with smaller sales from the ordinary homeowner, who is buying property for completely different reasons.

Long-term buyers are finding it so difficult to find a single-family home in Manhattan that they are creating their own. Ironically, many of these townhouses were initially single-family homes to begin with. Now, buyers are investing millions to renovate and re-build them back to their original layouts from their current multi-family state. This often involves redoing the plumbing, wiring and tearing out walls placed in after the fact.

Manhattan real estate agents estimate that the average complete townhouse in the Upper West Side costs approximately $10 million. Renovations to revert the building to its initial layout can set them back an additional $3 million to $5 million.

On the flip side, multi-family rentals are becoming more popular in the city. The post 2008 employment environment is still uncertain, meaning that more and more people are renting, sometimes with several other families. It is not the ideal scenario for an owner. With every new member on the contract, the odds of rent being missed, or problems arising increases. In light of a tenuous rental market, the idea of renting out individual units in one’s townhouse becomes less appealing, perhaps indicating why more owners are opting to convert multi-family townhouses into single dwellings, and catering exclusively to the luxury market in Manhattan, as opposed to the general population.

It is one thing to own a residence for your family to put down roots, and another to analyze the current status of the housing market in terms of the rental potential and ease of resale down the road. With multi-family rentals becoming more popular, it looks like the renovations to convert to a single-family home may be well worth the investment.


 

Now, hopefully, you'll now understand the difference between co op vs condo buildings, as well as other type of properties available in NYC and Miami.

 

Selling Your Home

SCHEDULE AN IN-PERSON
MEETING WITH OUR TEAM

SCHEDULE A MEETING

Do I need a Realtor?