纽约和迈阿密购房指南

购买房产,无论是主要住宅还是投资房产,都是个人一生中最重要的财务决定之一。对于一些人来说,这可能是一个令人生畏的经历。这是一个需要时间的过程。然而,当你与正确的代理人合作,并对这一过程进行适当的教育,它可以很简单。 

在我们的网站上,我们将深入探讨曼哈顿和迈阿密这两个市场的购房流程,在这两个市场上,我们有丰富的经验帮助来自世界各地的人买房。在这两个城市的购房流程有什么不同,我们会解释其中的差异。 我们的目标是教育您了解购房流程,让您更容易理解。为此,我们为您准备了这份全面的纽约购房指南,并随时准备回答您在购房过程中的任何问题。

曼哈顿的房地产市场以惊人的速度发展。迈阿密房地产市场的发展速度非常快,但与纽约市的速度不同。然而,在这两个市场中,"时间是至关重要的。"一个错误的步骤或延迟可能导致买家失去交易。

一旦您找到了最适合您需求的房产,我们将指导您完成交易,确保律师、房地产经纪人和抵押贷款经纪人都能迅速完成交易。在本指南中,您会发现一些有用的信息和经过时间验证的一步一步的流程,让您在寻找新房的过程中少走弯路。

关于我们

曼哈顿迈阿密房地产公司已经为美国房地产市场的买家和卖家提供服务超过10年。在这期间,我们积累了丰富的知识,帮助世界各地的买家在纽约市和迈阿密进行合理的房地产投资。 

 

在这本《纽约购房指南》中,您会发现一些有用的信息和经过时间验证的逐步购房流程,让您在寻找新房时少走弯路。

 

目录

第一步与买方代理合作

第2步获得抵押贷款预批准书

第三步:确定购买哪种类型的房产

步骤4创建一个愿望清单

第五步在线搜索房产

第六步与你的经纪人一起去看房

第7步开盘价

第8步:出价和谈判

第九步 正式聘请房地产律师

步骤10签合同,定金

步骤11如有融资,取得抵押贷款承诺书

第12步递板包

第13步:为闭幕式做准备

第14步结束交易

步骤1 撮合

为了做出最好的买房决定,你需要有最好的代理,这意味着有自己的买方代理代表你工作。在任何房地产交易中,都会有一个代表卖方利益的卖方代理。同样,有了买方代理,你有一个专门为你的利益着想的人。买方与买方代理人合作是没有成本的,因为卖方总是支付经纪人的佣金。

买方经纪人最重要的一个方面是,他或她对特定的房产没有既得利益。而挂牌代理或销售代理,则对销售他们挂牌出售的特定公寓或楼盘有既得利益。卖方和挂牌代理代表卖方工作的卖方只对以最好的条件获得最高的价格感兴趣,这与买方的利益相反。

你可以这样想。如果你是法庭上的被告,你不会用原告律师来代理你。 这里也是一样的情况。聪明点!使用你自己的经纪人。关于聘请代理人的其他提示。

  • 不要使用多个中介,因为他们都不会全心全意帮助你。承诺给一个专业的代理,告诉他们,他们会弯腰给你找最好的房产。
  • 一个好的经纪人会让你看到市场上每一个可用的公寓,包括一些还没有上市的公寓。

"为什么你需要使用曼哈顿的房地产经纪人"

"为什么你需要一个经验丰富的房地产经纪人在迈阿密"

购房者代理

第二步 如果你想获得按揭贷款,要取得预批准书

如果你想获得按揭贷款,在开始寻找房产之前获得预批准书是必须的。获得银行的预批准。

  • 使您能更好地确定您能负担得起的房屋价格范围;以及
  • 向卖方及其经纪人证明你有能力完成交易的经济能力

通常情况下,卖家甚至不会与一个有抵押贷款或有条件且没有预批准信的买家进行谈判。不被预先批准向卖家表明,也许买方并不认真,不知道需要什么来完成交易,甚至可能连购买的经济能力都没有。

房贷预批只需要一两天的时间,所以最好先完成这一步。这样可以让你在找房时对自己的目标价位有一个很好的思路。

 

按揭融资

抵押贷款预审批

第三步 决定购买哪种类型的房产[公寓与公房]

在开始找房之前,购房者应该先了解一下不同类型的房源。 有四种房产类型。

  • 合作社(合作社)
  • 共管公寓(公寓)
  • 共管公寓(商业和住宅单位分开的共管公寓,只有住宅单位由合作社管理的住宅单位)。
  • Townhouses, or Brownstones, and
  • 单户住宅

曼哈顿的住宅房地产由约25%的公寓、70%的合租房和5%的公寓和联排别墅组成。迈阿密由公寓和单身家庭住宅组成。

什么是合作社?一般来说,合作公寓是针对主要购房者的,有很多规章制度,并且需要与合作公寓董事会面谈。购买合作公寓时,买方购买的是拥有该建筑的公司的股票,买方收到的是使用该公寓的专有租约。

此外,合作公寓对资金要求比较严格,对您是否可以将公寓转租或作为公寓使用,往往会有更多的限制。而购买公寓则要直接得多,可以随意转租。因此,公寓所有权是一个灵活的首选,尤其是在投资者、外国买家和为子女购买的父母中。  

公寓与合作社

更详细的讨论.....

关于物业类型和公寓与合作公寓的比较。

VIEW CONDO VS.COOPCOOP

第四步 创作愿望清单

现在是时候列一个你想要的房产愿望清单了。 你想在一个新兴的位置? 还是一个非常成熟的地方?你想住在玻璃塔楼里,还是想住在历史悠久的战前合作社? 这些问题的答案将帮助您的买家代理了解哪些房产可能适合您的口味,哪些是可以省略的。

这对你来说也很重要,你要明白什么只是一个愿望,什么是不可商量的。你可能会希望找到一个带按摩浴缸或露台的公寓,但会选择没有的东西。另一方面,你可能绝对需要三间卧室。清楚地了解您的期望,将有助于您和您的经纪人扩大搜索范围,并发现您可能会错过的房产。

搜索房源出售信息 - 迈阿密海滩, , Bal Harbour, Coconut Grove

"2020年曼哈顿最适合买公寓的社区"

"这些待售的迈阿密新开发的公寓将在2020年改变天际线"

物业类型

第五步 网上搜房

手里有了心愿清单,你就可以开始在网上寻找房源了。从曼哈顿迈阿密网站开始,它提供的强大功能可以帮助您找到理想的房子。我们可以查询到曼哈顿和迈阿密的所有房源。如果您想自行搜索曼哈顿或迈阿密的房源,请点击这里查看 曼哈顿而这里的迈阿密。

我们的客户大多喜欢我们为他们推荐有趣的房产。如果您想让我们为您准备一个量身定制的物业搜索,请点击这里获取以下信息 曼哈顿 而这里是 迈阿密 我们再来 基于您的独特参数的结果。

注:  外国买家在搜索房源时,应将房产搜索的重点放在公寓、公寓楼、公寓楼 联排别墅,就像合作社的初级住宅一样 房主.

 

纽约市公寓出售

 

纽约市的合作社

 

联排别墅

 

"购买投资房产时不要追逐收益率"

曼哈顿迈阿密房产搜索

第六步 与你的经纪人看房

现在是最有趣的部分:看房!一旦我们有了一个简短的房产参观名单,我们就会安排个人预约看房,或者如果您可以在周日看房,我们会和您一起参加开放房。您可以在一天内看很多房源,但是,如果您喜欢更多的隐私,个人预约看房会更合适。

不一会儿,你就会缩小选择范围,我们就会有几家房源可以选择。

纽约购房指南

如果您自己进行房产搜索,如果您与购房中介合作,不要直接给房产的挂牌中介打电话。请记住,房源代理是为卖家工作,而不是为您工作!如果他们向您展示房产,房源代理将期望代表您。如果他们向您展示了房产,上市代理将期望代表您。您将进入 "双重代理",失去了您不可分割的忠诚权利。

第七步 开价

对于您所选择的物业,我们会根据可比物业的情况,提供一个估价。我们会根据目前市场上的情况,与我们的买家一起制定出价策略。我们会根据物业、位置和当前的市场情况制定谈判策略。

我们将编写一份类似于可比物业分析的分析报告,类似于可比市场分析报告(CMA卖方在确定销售价格时使用的是 "销售价格"(即 "销售价格")。我们的分析将集中在具有相似特征的楼盘中的相邻公寓的最新成交数据。我们将为您提供所有最新的数据,以帮助您做出决策。 最新的 每平方英尺的平均价格、趋势等。从这些数据和市场信息中,我们将提炼出一个开盘价。

"购买投资性房产"

"购买迈阿密公寓时要考虑转售问题"

CMA

第八步 讨价还价

在纽约,报价是通过买方的房地产经纪人口头提出的。口头要约不具有法律约束力。在纽约的房地产交易中,只有书面合同才是可执行的。因此,在合同签订之前,买方和卖方都没有义务。因此,买方可以对不同的公寓进行多次出价,以获得最佳的交易。但在佛罗里达州,要约是以书面形式提出的,并且要约时需要交纳10%的定金。因此,买方提出的任何报价都具有法律约束力。卖方通常会提出反价。买方和卖方会来来回回回,直到他们就最终的购房价格和交易中的任何特殊条款达成一致。其中一个特殊条款可能是抵押贷款或有条款,如果银行不愿意为该房产进行抵押贷款,买方可以解除合同,并收回定金。抵押贷款或有条款规定,买方必须在45天内获得抵押贷款。卖家可能会接受60天的期限,但大多数卖家宁愿选择完全不设按揭或有条款。在没有或有条款的情况下,卖家可能会降低价格。有时候,卖家不会允许外国买家有抵押贷款或有条件,因为卖家很难知道买家是否真的被银行拒绝了,或者只是改变了购买房产的想法。对于一些外国买家来说,如果卖家不允许提供或有抵押贷款,这可能会成为一个问题。拥有银行的预批准书,往往能帮助外国买家扫清这个障碍。

"在纽约市购买公寓时你需要知道什么"

"购买建造前迈阿密公寓时你需要知道什么"

报价与谈判

第九步 聘请房地产律师

虽然建议至少要事先咨询纽约市的房地产律师,但一旦卖方接受了报价,买方就需要聘请房地产律师。 在纽约,它要求买方聘请律师。在迈阿密,它是不需要的,但大多数人都会使用律师来处理他们的购买。这里的风险太大,所以我们总是建议买家有自己的法律代表。 

接受要约后,买方的代理人会填写一份 "交易单",上面写着买方的名字,以及所有的联系信息,包括买方律师的名字和地址。因此,买方必须知道此时他们将与哪位律师合作。在一天之内,公寓的文件将被送到买方的律师那里去审核。

买方律师将阅读公寓文件和大楼的财务报表等文件,以确定大楼的健康状况和任何需要解决的问题。买方律师将向卖方律师和大楼的担保人提出问题。然后将对合同进行修改,以解决审查中发现的任何问题(如果有的话)。

在买方签署合同之前,如果卖方愿意的话,可以将公寓展示出来,并接受更高的报价。因此。 时间是最重要的在经历这个过程的时候。

"纽约市房地产税"

"在纽约市购买公寓时的税务和法律问题"

"你应该知道的迈阿密房产税信息"

迈阿密购房指南

步骤10 签合同,定金

在纽约

签订合同时,通常是在接受要约后10天内,买方必须向卖方律师提交购房款的10%的定金。定金由卖方的律师代为保管,通常由卖方的律师保管,直至成交。

佛罗里达州

只有在某些情况下,例如在银行拒绝买方的贷款申请时,才可退还最初书面报价时的10%定金。

纽约购房指南

步骤11 融资时取得抵押贷款承诺书

如果购房者在办理按揭融资,则要努力从银行取得按揭贷款的《按揭承诺书》。抵押贷款承诺书是在买方获得贷款后出具的。对于公寓和合作公寓,此信是董事会文件的要求,在您与卖方达成交易后,您将提交董事会批准。

贷款担保

申请抵押贷款可以在您找到房子之前或提交报价后开始。不过,最好是尽可能早做,以消除任何意外情况。购房者需要填写一份申请书,其中涉及到大量的文书工作。贷款人会详细查看买家的信用记录、工作记录、工作记录、工作记录等。 金融资产和负债; 

出具抵押贷款承诺书

抵押贷款承诺书是核保员在贷款获批后寄给贷款官员的文件。这就是真实的东西!抵押贷款承诺书将详细说明抵押贷款的各个方面。它将包括条款和利率。它将逐项列出 "条件"(必须提供或解释的项目,以获得最终批准)。抵押贷款承诺书将有日期,并有到期日。它可以由承销商签署。

虽然在开始找房时,预批准书是一件很好的事情,但在出具抵押贷款承诺书之前,购房者是不会被批准的,因为抵押贷款承诺书是一份正式的、具有法律约束力的文件。

董事会批准

第12步 递板包

全联排别墅或独栋别墅不需要董事会批准,但购买公寓或合作社的买家需要向公寓或合作社董事会正式申请才能完成购买。

一旦买卖双方签订合同后,买方必须向公寓或合作社董事会提交董事会文件。共管公寓董事会拥有所谓的 "优先购买权",这意味着他们在批准外部买家的购买之前,有机会购买该公寓。合作社董事会有权批准或拒绝购买者。董事会包,有时也称为销售申请书,包括/要求。

  • 申请和收费
  • 已执行的合同和抵押贷款承诺书(如有)。
  • 财务报表,包括银行对账单或确认书
  • 个人推荐信
  • 商业推荐信
  • 最近三年的报税单
  • 就业和收入核查信
  • 授权进行刑事、信用和就业检查

板式包装报送楼宇管理公司审核。

  • 如果是合作社,董事会将要求对该单位未来的所有居民进行面谈。这个面谈是非常严肃的,应该考虑开个业务会议。
  • 公寓董事会不会与潜在的购房者进行面谈,但会进行信用和犯罪调查,并阅读董事会的资料。

一旦董事会放弃了 "优先购买权",或者换句话说,批准了购买者,那么就可以安排成交。

操作板包

步骤13 筹备

在合同签订后的30/45/60天内完成,具体时间取决于约定的条款。如果支付现金,那么30天内完成交易的可能性较大。如果获得抵押贷款,买方很可能会在60天内过关,平均为45天。 在准备过户时。

  • 定好截止日期。
  • 符合贷款要约的条件。
  • 买方律师将进行产权查询,以确保买方收到 "干净的产权",这将确保卖方拥有该房产的所有权,并确保没有对该房产提出留置权。
  • 购买房主保险,以保护房主(和贷款人)在房屋受损或毁坏时免受损失。
  • 结业前的最后一次走访检查。
闭幕式

步骤14 成交

结业,即结算,是房地产交易的最后一步。在交易结束之日,双方完成购房合同,将房产的所有权从卖方转移给买方。 

  • 买方(或买方银行)交付所欠的购房款,一般为购房款的剩余90%加上3.5%(无抵押贷款)至5.5%(有抵押贷款)的过户费用。
  • 卖家在房契上签了字,然后把钥匙交给买方,再把钥匙交给房屋。
  • 产权公司会在当地土地登记处登记新的房契。
  • 如果卖方在交易结束时已有抵押贷款,则卖方将从销售收入中获得应得的款项,减去过户费用和按揭付款。

对于外国买家来说,可以在买家不亲自到美国的情况下进行交易结束。买方只需将授权书委托给买方的律师(或如果是以有限责任公司的名义购买,则签署一份同意书)代表买方完成交易。这是一种常见的做法。

"投资者的物业管理"

购房流程

我们来聊一聊

安排与我们的团队进行面谈

约见

HOME BUYING PROCESS

Buying a property, whether a primary residence or an investment property, is one of the most important financial decisions an individual will make in their lifetime. It can be a daunting experience for some. It’s a process that takes time. When you are working with the right agent and are properly educated about that process, however, it can be quite simple. 

Throughout our website, we explore the in-depth process of buying property in Manhattan and Miami, two markets where we have extensive experience helping people from around the world buy a home. Where the processes diverge between the two cities, we explain the differences.  It’s our goal to educate you about the buying process and make it easier to understand. To that end, we’ve prepared this comprehensive home buying guide, and we are available to answer any questions that you may have along the way.

The Manhattan real estate market moves at breakneck speed. The Miami real estate market moves very quickly, but not at the same pace as the NYC market. In either market, however, “time is of the essence.”  One misstep or delay could result in the buyer losing the deal.

Once you find the property that best fits your needs, we will shepherd the transaction through to the closing process, ensuring that the attorneys, real estate agents and mortgage brokers are all moving quickly to close the transaction. In this guide, you will find some useful information and a time-proven step-by-step process to take the guesswork out of your search for a new home.

ABOUT US

Manhattan Miami Real Estate has been serving buyers and sellers in the United States real estate market for over 10 years. In that time, we've amassed knowledge that helps buyers from around the world make sound real estate investments in New York City and Miami. 

 

In this guide, you will find some useful information and a
time-proven step-by-step buying process to take the guesswork
out of your search for a new home:

 

TABLE OF CONTENTS

STEP  1TEAM UP WITH A BUYER AGENT

STEP 2OBTAIN MORTGAGE PRE-APPROVAL LETTER

STEP 3DETERMINE WHICH TYPE OF PROPERTY TO BUY

STEP 4CREATE A WISH LIST

STEP 5SEARCH PROPERTIES ONLINE

STEP 6VISIT PROPERTIES WITH YOUR BROKER

STEP 7DISTILL AN OPENING OFFER PRICE

STEP 8MAKE AN OFFER AND NEGOTIATE

STEP 9FORMALLY ENGAGE REAL ESTATE ATTORNEY

STEP 10SIGN CONTRACT AND PUT DOWN 10% DEPOSIT

STEP 11OBTAIN MORTGAGE COMMITMENT LETTER, IF FINANCING

STEP 12SUBMIT BOARD PACKAGE 

STEP 13PREPARE FOR THE CLOSING

STEP 14CLOSE THE TRANSACTION

STEP 1 TEAM UP WITH A BUYER AGENT

To make the best possible home buying decision, you need to have the best possible representation, which means having your own buyer agent working on your behalf. In any real estate transaction, there will be a seller agent who represents the interests of the seller. Likewise, with a buyer’s agent, you have someone who is dedicated to your interests. There is no cost to the buyer to work with a buyer’s agent, as the seller always pays the broker commission.

One of the most important aspects of a buyer’s agent is that he or she has no vested interest in a specific property. The listing or selling agent, on the other hand, has a vested interest in selling the specific apartment or building that they have listed for sale. The seller and the listing agent working on the seller’s behalf are only interested in obtaining the highest price at the best terms for their seller—the opposite of the buyer’s interest.

Think of it like this: If you were the defendant in a court case, you wouldn’t use the plaintiff’s attorney to represent you. Same situation here. Be smart! Use your own broker. Other tips regarding hiring an agent:

  • Don’t use multiple agents, as they will be none will be fully committed to helping you. Commit to one professional agent, tell them, and they will bend over backward to find you the best property.
  • A good agent will be able to get you in to see every available apartment on the market—including some that aren’t even listed yet.

"Why You Need to Use a Manhattan Real Estate Buyer's Agent"

"Why You Need a Highly Experienced Real Estate Agent in Miami"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 2 OBTAIN PRE-APPROVAL LETTER IF YOU WANT A MORTGAGE

Obtaining a pre-approval letter before you start your property search is a must if you want a mortgage. Being pre-approved by the bank:

  • allows you to better determine the price range of homes you can afford; and
  • demonstrates to the seller and their broker that you have the financial capacity to complete the transaction

Often, sellers won’t even negotiate with a buyer who makes an offer with a mortgage contingency and no pre-approval letter. Not being pre-approved demonstrates to the seller that perhaps the buyer isn’t serious, doesn’t know what it takes to complete the transaction, and maybe doesn’t even have the financial capacity to purchase.

A mortgage pre-approval takes only one or two days to obtain, so it’s best to complete this step first. It will give you a good idea of the price points you want to target in your search.

 

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 3 DETERMINE WHICH TYPE OF PROPERTY TO BUY [CONDO VS. COOP]

Before beginning the property search, the buyer should understand the different types of property that are available for sale.  There are four property types:

  • Co-operatives (Co-ops)
  • Condominiums (Condos)
  • Condops (Condominiums with separate business and residential units, with only the residential units managed by a co-op)
  • Townhouses, or Brownstones, and
  • Single-family homes

Manhattan residential real estate is comprised of approximately 25% condos, 70% co-ops and 5% condops and townhouses. Miami is comprised of condos and single family homes.

Generally, co-ops are for primary home buyers, have lots of rules and regulations, and require an in-person interview with the co-op board. When purchasing a co-op, the buyer purchases shares of stock in a company that owns the building and the buyer receives a proprietary lease to use the apartment.

In addition, co-ops are stricter about their financial requirements and tend to impose more onerous restrictions on whether you can sublet your apartment or use it as a pied-à-terre. Buying a condo is much more straightforward, allowing you to sublet your apartment at will. Accordingly, condo ownership is a top choice for flexibility, especially among investors, foreign buyers, and parents purchasing for their children.  

Group 9@2x.png

For a more detailed discussion...

about property types and a comparison of condos vs co-ops:

VIEW CONDO VS. COOP

STEP 4 CREATE A WISH LIST

Now it’s time to make a wish list of what you want in a property.  Do you want to be in an up-and-coming location?  Or one that is very established? Do you want to live in a glass tower or a historic pre-war co-op?  Answers to these questions will help your buyer’s agent understand which properties might be a good fit for your tastes, and which ones to skip.

It’s also important for you to understand what is just a wish and what is non-negotiable. You might hope to find a condo with a Jacuzzi tub or terrace, but would settle for something without. On the other hand, you might absolutely need three bedrooms. Being clear about your expectations will help you and your agent broaden your search and spot properties you might otherwise miss out on.

"4 Search Tactics for Manhattan Real Estate"

"Best Manhattan Neighborhoods to Buy a Condo in 2019"

"These New Development Miami Condos for Sale Will Change the Skyline in 2019"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 5 SEARCH PROPERTIES ONLINE

With your wish list in hand, you can begin searching for properties online. Start with the Manhattan Miami website, which offers powerful features to help you find your ideal home. We have access to all the listings in Manhattan and Miami. If you would like to search Manhattan or Miami property listings by yourself, click here for Manhattan and here for Miami.

Most of our clients prefer us to suggest interesting properties to them. If you would like us to prepare a tailored search of properties for you, click here for Manhattan and here for Miami and we will return to you results based on your unique parameters.

Note:  When searching listings, foreign buyers should focus their property search on condos, condops and townhouses, as co-ops are for primary home owners.

"Don't Chase Yield When Buying Investment Properties"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 6 VISIT PROPERTIES WITH YOUR AGENT

Now the fun part: the property visits! Once we have a short list of properties to visit, we will arrange individual appointments to see properties, or if you are available to see properties on a Sunday, we will attend open houses with you. You can see a lot of properties in one day with the open house option, however, if you prefer more privacy, the individual appointments would be more appropriate.

In no time, you will narrow down your selection and we will have a few properties to choose from.

Group 9@2x.png

If you conduct your own property search, do not call a property’s listing agent directly if you are working with a buying agent. Remember, listing agents work for the seller, not you! If they show you the property, the listing agent will expect to represent you. You will enter into “dual agency,” losing your right to undivided loyalty.

STEP 7 DISTILL AN OFFERING PRICE

For the properties that you select, we will provide an estimate of property valuation that is based upon comparable properties. We strategize with our buyers to determine bidding strategy in light of what is going on currently in the market. We will develop negotiation tactics depending upon the property, location, and current market conditions.

We will prepare an analysis of comparable properties, similar to the comparable market analysis (CMA) used by a seller, in determining the offering price. Our analysis will focus on the most recent closed sales data for neighboring apartments in buildings with similar characteristics. We will provide all the latest data that you need to make a decision—closed sales analysis, average listing discount for the quarter, current market conditions, latest average price per square foot, trends, etc. From all of this data and market information, we will distill an opening offer price.

"Buying an Investment Property"

"Think About Resale When Buying a Miami Apartment"

"Buying NYC Property: A Guide to Crafting an Offer and Negotiating"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 8 MAKE AN OFFER AND NEGOTIATE

In New York, offers are made orally through the buyer’s real estate agent. Oral offers are not legally binding. Only written contracts are enforceable for real estate transactions in New York. Therefore, until the contract is signed, there is no obligation on the part of the buyer or the seller. Accordingly, a buyer can place a number of offers on different apartments to try to get the best deal. In Florida, however, offers are made in writing and a 10% deposit is required to accompany the offer. Therefore, any offer made by the buyer is legally binding.

The seller will usually come back with a counter offer. Buyer and seller will go back and forth until they agree on the final purchase price and any special terms of the deal. One special term might be a mortgage contingency, which allows the buyer to get out of the contract and receive their deposit back if the bank will not enter into a mortgage for the property. Mortgage contingencies provide for the buyer to obtain the mortgage within 45 days.
The seller might accept a 60-day term, but most sellers would prefer no mortgage contingency at all. With no contingency, the seller may go lower on the price.

Sometimes sellers will not allow a mortgage contingency for foreign buyers, since it is difficult for the seller know if the buyer was truly turned down by a bank or simply changed their mind about buying the property. This might become an issue for some foreign buyers if the seller won’t allow the contingency. Having a pre-approval letter from the bank often helps the foreign buyer clear this hurdle.

"What You Need to Know When Buying a Pre Construction Miami Condo"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 9 ENGAGE A REAL ESTATE ATTORNEY

While it is advisable to at least consult a NYC real estate attorney beforehand, oncee the seller has accepted an offer, the buyer will need to hire a real estate attorney.  In New York, it’s required of the buyer to engage an attorney. In Miami, it’s not required, but most will use attorneys to transact their purchases. The risks are too great to go it alone here, so we always suggest a buyer have their own legal representation. 

Upon acceptance of the offer, the buyer’s agent will fill out a “deal sheet” that contains the names of the purchasers, as well as all contact information, including the name and address of the buyer’s attorney. Therefore, the buyer must know which attorney they will be working with at this point. Within one day, the condo documents will be sent to the buyer’s attorney to review.

The buyer’s attorney will read the condo documents and the building’s financial statements, among other documents, to determine the health of the building and any issues that should be addressed. The buyer’s attorney will pose questions to the seller’s attorney and sponsor of the building. The contract will then be revised to address any issues noted in the review, if any.

Until the contract is signed by the buyer, the seller can show the apartment and accept higher offers, if they wish. Therefore, time is of the essence when going through the process.

"NYC Real Estate Taxes"

"Tax and Legal Issues When Buying an Apartment in NYC"

"Miami Real Estate Tax Information You Should be Aware Of"

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 10 SIGN CONTRACT AND PUT DOWN 10% DEPOSIT

IN NEW YORK

Upon signing of the contract, which is usually no more than 10 days after the offer is accepted, the buyer must submit a deposit of 10% of the purchase price to the seller’s attorney. The deposit is held in escrow, usually by the seller’s attorney, until the closing.

IN FLORIDA

The 10% deposit which was made alongside the initial written offer is only refundable in certain instances, such as those under a mortgage contingency clause where the buyer’s loan application has been rejected by the bank.

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 11 OBTAIN MORTGAGE COMMITMENT LETTER IF FINANCING

If the buyer is obtaining mortgage financing, he or she will work on obtaining a Mortgage Commitment Letter from the bank for the mortgage. The Mortgage Commitment Letter is issued once the buyer has secured the loan. For condos and co-ops, this letter is a requirement of the Board Package, which you’ll submit for board approval after you reach a deal with a seller.

SECURING THE LOAN

Applying for a mortgage can begin before you find a home or after you have submitted an offer. However, it is best to do this as early in the process as possible so as to eliminate any surprises. The buyer will have to fill out an application that involves a lot of paperwork. The lender will take a detailed look at the buyer’s credit history, employment record and financial assets and liabilities. 

ISSUANCE OF THE MORTGAGE COMMITMENT LETTER

A Mortgage Commitment Letter is the document an underwriter sends to the loan officer once a loan is approved. This is the real thing! The Mortgage Commitment Letter will detail every aspect of the mortgage. It will include the terms and interest rate. It will itemize the “conditions” (the items that must be provided or explained for final approval). The Mortgage Commitment Letter will be dated and it will have an expiration date. It may be signed by the underwriter.

While the pre-approval letter is a great thing to have when beginning your search, the buyer is not approved until the Mortgage Commitment Letter is issued, as the Mortgage Commitment Letter is a formal, legally-binding document.

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 12 SUBMIT BOARD PACKAGE

There is no board approval for whole townhouses or single-family homes, but buyers purchasing a condo or co-op will need to formally apply to the condo or co-op board in order to complete the purchase.

Once the contract is executed by both the buyer and the seller, the buyer must submit a Board Package to the condo or co-op board. A condo board has what’s called the “right of first refusal,” which means they have the opportunity to purchase the condo before approving an external buyer’s purchase. A co-op board has the power to approve or deny buyers. The Board Package, sometimes called a Sale Application, will include/require:

  • An application and fee
  • The executed contract and Mortgage Commitment Letter, if any
  • Financial statements including bank statements or confirmation letters
  • Personal letters of reference
  • Business letters of reference
  • The last three years’ tax returns
  • Employment and income verification letters
  • Authorization for criminal, credit and employment checks

The Board Package is submitted to the building’s management company for review.

  • If a co-op, the board will request an interview of all the future residents of the unit. This interview is very serious and should be considered a business meeting.
  • A condo board will not interview the prospective purchaser but will run credit and criminal checks and read the Board Package.

Once the board waives the right of first refusal,” or in other words, approves the purchaser, then a closing can be scheduled.

 

 

Group 9@2x.png

STEP 13 PREPARE FOR THE CLOSING

The closing will take place within 30/45/60 days from contract signing, depending upon what terms have been agreed. If paying cash, then a 30-day closing is more likely. If obtaining a mortgage, the buyer will likely get up to 60 days, with the average being 45 days.  In preparation of the closing:

  • Set the closing date.
  • Meet conditions of the loan offer.
  • Buyer’s attorney will run a title search to make sure the buyer received “clean title”, which will ensure that the seller owns the property and that there are no liens filed against the property.
  • Obtain homeowners insurance to protect the owner (and the lender) from losses if ever the house is damaged or destroyed.
  • Final walk-through inspection before closing.
Group 9@2x.png

STEP 14 CLOSE THE TRANSACTION

The closing, or settlement, is the final step in a real estate transaction. On the closing date, the parties consummate the purchase contract and transfer ownership of the property from the seller to the buyer: 

  • The buyer (or the buyer’s bank) delivers payment for the balance owed on the purchase, which is usually the remaining 90% of the purchase price plus closing costs of 3.5% (without a mortgage) to 5.5% (with a mortgage).
  • The seller signs the deed over to the buyer and delivers the keys to the home.
  • A title company will register the new deed with the local land registry.
  • The seller will receive the monies due from the proceeds of the sale, less closing costs and mortgage payouts if the seller had an existing mortgage at closing.

For foreign buyers, the closing can take place without the buyer being physically present in the US. The buyer would simply assign a Power of Attorney to the buyer’s lawyer (or sign a Letter of Consent if purchasing with an LLC) to close the deal on the buyer’s behalf. This is a common practice.

"Property Management for Investors"

Group 9@2x.png

LET'S CHAT

SCHEDULE AN IN-PERSON
MEETING WITH OUR TEAM

SCHEDULE A MEETING