外国人可以在美国买房吗?

准备好购买了吗?跳过介绍,直接进入我们的《外国买家指南》。请点击下面的按钮下载。

外国买家指南

老外可以在美国买房吗?

是的,美国政府对外国人投资美国房地产没有任何限制,所以对美国公民、美国居民和外国人来说,基本上是一个公平的竞争环境。 

外国人在美国买房有哪些主要规定?

  • 外国买家购买曼哈顿的房产或迈阿密的豪华公寓时,可随时提供融资。
  • 外国买家必须合理安排其房地产投资结构,以避免或对冲房地产税。
  • 《外国投资不动产税法》要求政府预扣收益的一定比例,以支付可能应缴纳的资本收益税。对已实现的资本收益金额的预扣率等于收益的15%。 旦卖方报税并支付税款后,预扣的金额将返还给卖方。
 
查看我们的博客 "外国人在美国购房的四条规则",请看下面的博客!
看看吧!

外国买家是否需要支付额外的印花税?

没有。外国人在购买美国房产时没有额外的印花税,不像香港、伦敦、伦敦、温哥华、多伦多、悉尼和墨尔本等地对外国买家征收7%-30%的额外税。美国对外国人购买美国房产时不处罚。
不过,一般来说,迈阿密和曼哈顿房产的综合过户税(即印花税、豪宅税、产权保险、律师费、产权过户及其他过户费用),一般来说,在没有抵押贷款的情况下,过户税是按购房款的3%来计算的。如果获得抵押贷款,还需要额外加收2.2%的抵押登记税。购房者在购买新楼盘时,惯例是要额外支付开发商的过户税约1.825%。因此,在美国,总的过户费用将在3%到6%之间。

购房时是否需要支付中介佣金?

不,佣金总是由卖家支付。佣金由买方和卖方的房地产经纪人平均分配,所以买方不需要支付任何费用,由房地产经纪人代表他们工作。

 

要了解更多信息,请查看 "外国买家购买曼哈顿房地产的清单"。

查看检查表

外国人在美国买房能不能贷款买房?

针对外国国民的抵押贷款是很容易获得的。例如,汇丰银行、富国银行和许多私人银行都有提供外国人国民贷款。以下是汇丰银行针对外国人国民抵押贷款的条款要点。
  • 30% 最低首付
  • 300万美元 最高按揭额度,换算成房产价值为430万美元
  • 五万或十万 汇丰银行的存款
  • 12个月 储备金(按揭付款、共同费用、和 税收(除存款外,还需要有存款)。
利率每天都有变化,请与我们联系了解最新的利率。

外国人在买房时,与美国居民有什么不同的待遇?

美国的税收政策总体上对外国投资者和美国人、美国居民都是有利的,所以对外国人在美国买房没有什么具体的规定。曼哈顿的Co ops更偏向于初级房主,银行的承销商会把外国买家视为风险较高的买家,但这些都不是政府规定的。

 

想了解适应美国的生活吗? 

了解更多!

我需要多个经纪人来找房产吗?

在美国,在找房过程中,最好是和一个专业的房地产经纪人合作。与伦敦、巴黎和巴西不同,美国的房地产市场非常透明。例如,为了鼓励房地产市场的速度,纽约州房地产委员会和佛罗里达州政府要求经纪公司在24小时内分享他们的独家房源,因此,一个好的买家经纪人可以让你在市场上看到任何公寓。投入一家经纪公司将确保你能得到 最高服务水平 从那个经纪人,因为所有的经纪人的注意力都会在你和你的搜索上。

作为外国人可以买哪些类型的房产?

一般情况下,外国人在美国房地产的投资仅限于购买公寓,公寓 独立式或多户住宅。在曼哈顿。 外国买家 限制购买共管公寓和单户或多户住宅。合作公寓更倾向于主要的房主,一般来说,除非买方的资产和主要收入来源在美国,否则禁止外国人士持有。了解一下公寓和合作公寓的区别。 
 

想要投资迈阿密房地产的技巧?

看了这篇博客!

购房应如何结构化,尽量减少税收?

交易的结构可以有无数种方式,但是,我们的投资者会选择两种方式来规避遗产税,一是必须考虑遗产税可能对所有者的影响,二是美国和他们的母国之间是否有任何税收条约,可能会对收入、支出和资本收益的处理方式与美国不同。一般情况下,我们建议在交易结构上获得建议。
  • 考虑联邦和州的税收问题,以及税务条约的影响。
  • 在美国寻求当地的法律顾问来进行结构设计(LLC、外国公司等)和税务咨询。
  • 签署合同前一定要咨询律师
  • 了解更多关于房地产投资的成本构成的信息

我有必要担心所得税的问题吗?

一般情况下,购房者可以用现金支出,如房产税、维修费、房贷利息和非现金支出,如折旧等,来抵消租金收入。相应地,早年会产生纸质损失,可以结转15年。因此,在损失用完之前,业主不会对租金收入交税,一般是12年左右。 

对于外国人在美国出售房产,需要注意哪些问题?

卖房时,主要有两个成本。
a)转让税2%以下;b)经纪人销售佣金5%至6%。
此外,还要考虑的税种,资本利得税和遗产税。 通过适当的规划,遗产税是可以避免或对冲的。 非居民在美国的资本利得税 如果是以有限责任公司或个人名义购买,其税率与居民相同。最高联邦税率为28%。
  • 外国人的美国遗产税  
  • 美国对外国人的不动产征收资本利得税

 

我们收到很多关于纽约房地产的问题。 您是否有兴趣解答您的问题?我们在 "有兴趣购买和出售纽约房地产的外国人的常见问题解答 "中回答这些问题。

我有兴趣!

 

如果您有兴趣了解更多,我们很乐意与您见面!请在下方与专家预约时间。

Can Foreigners Buy Property in the USA?

Ready to buy? Skip the intro and head straight to our Foreign Buyer's Guide. Download it by clicking the button below.

FOREIGN BUYER'S GUIDE

Can a foreigner buy a house in USA?

Yes. The US government has no restrictions on foreign investments in us real estate, so it is pretty much a level playing field for both US citizens, US resident aliens and foreign nationals. 

What are the major rules for foreigners buying property in US?

  • Financing is readily available to foreign buyers
  • Foreign buyers must properly structure their real estate investments to avoid or hedge against the estate tax
  • The foreign investment in real property tax act FIRPTA requires the government withhold a percentage of the proceeds to cover potential capital gains tax that might be due. The withholding rate on the capital gain amount realized is equal to 15% of the proceeds. The amount withheld is returned to the seller once they file and pay their tax bill. 
 
View our blog 'Four Rules for Foreigners Buying Property in the U.S.A.' below!
CHECK IT OUT!

Do foreign buyers have to pay extra stamp duties?

No. There are no extra stamp duties imposed on foreigners buying US property, unlike Hong Kong, Singapore, London, Vancouver, Toronto, Sydney and Melbourne, which all add between 7% - 30% additional tax on foreign buyers. The United States does not penalize foreigners when buying US property.
In general, however, combined transfer taxes (i.e stamp duty, mansion tax, title insurance, attorney fees, title transfers, and other closing costs) in Miami and Manhattan real estate, generally, run at 3% of the purchase price without a mortgage. An additional 2.2% of the mortgage amount for mortgage recording tax should be added if obtaining a mortgage. When purchasing a new development, it is practice for the buyer to pay additionally the developer's transfer taxes of approximately 1.825%. Accordingly, total closing costs in the united states will range from 3% to 6%.

Do I have to pay a brokerage commission when buying a property?

No. Commissions are always paid by the seller. The commission is evenly divided between the buyer and seller's real estate brokers, so buyers don't pay anything to have a real estate agent working on their behalf.

 

To learn more, check out 'The Foreign Buyer’s Checklist For Purchasing Manhattan Real Estate':

VIEW THE CHECKLIST!

Can a foreigner buy a house in USA with a mortgage?

Mortgage loans for foreign nationals are readily available. For instance, HSBC, Wells Fargo and many private banks offer foreign national loans. Below are highlights of HSBC’s terms for foreigners national mortgage:
  • 30% Minimum down payment
  • $3 million maximum mortgage amount, which translates to a property value of $4.3 million
  • $50,000 or $100,000 on deposit from HSBC
  • 12 months reserves (mortgage payment, common charge, and taxes) are required to be on deposit (in addition to the funds on deposit)
Interest rates vary on a daily basis, so connect with us for the latest rates.

How are foreigners treated differently than US residents when buying a home?

United States tax policy is generally favorable to both foreign investors and US and residents, alike, so there are few specific rules for foreigners buying property in the USA. Co ops in Manhattan prefer primary homeowners and bank’s underwriters will treat the foreign buyer as a bit riskier, but these are not government regulation.

 

Want to learn about Adapting to Life in the USA? 

LEARN MORE!

Do I need multiple brokers to find a property?

In the US, it is wisest to work with one professional real estate broker during your search. Unlike London, Paris and Brazil, the US market is very transparent. To encourage velocity in the real estate market, The Real Estate Board of New York and Florida Department of State, for example, require brokerages to share their exclusive property listings within 24 hours, so a good buyer’s broker can get you in to see any apartment on the market. Committing to one broker will ensure that you get the highest service level from that broker, as all the broker's attention will be on you and your search.

What types of property can I buy as a foreigner?

Generally, foreigner investments in us real estate are restricted to purchasing condos, condops and free-standing or multi family homes. In Manhattan, Foreign buyers are restricted from buying condominiums and single or multi-family homes. Co-ops prefer primary homeowners and generally prohibit foreign ownership unless the buyer's assets and primary source of income are in the US. Learn about the difference between condo and coop. 
 

Want tips on investing in Miami Real Estate?

READ THE BLOG!

How should I structure the property purchase to minimize taxes?

Deals can be structured an infinite number of ways, however, there are two ways in particular that our investors will choose to avoid the estate tax one must consider how the estate tax may affect the owner as well as whether there is any tax treaty between the US and their home country that might treat income, expenses and capital gains differently than the United States. Generally, we suggest obtaining advice on structuring the deal
  • Consider Federal and state tax issues, as well as the impact of tax treaties.
  • Seek local counsel in the US for structuring (LLC, Foreign Corp, etc.) and tax advice.
  • Always consult your attorney before signing contracts
  • Learn more about the Cost Components of a Real Estate Investment 

Do I have to worry about income taxes?

Generally, a buyer will be able to offset their rental income by cash expenses, like property taxes, maintenance, mortgage interest and non-cash expenses, like depreciation. Accordingly, early years will create paper losses, which can be carried forward 15 years. Therefore, owners won’t pay tax on rental income until the losses are used up, typically around 12 years. 

For foreigners selling property in USA, what issues should I be aware of?

When selling a property, the two main costs are:
a) transfer taxes of less than 2% and b) broker sales commission of 5% to 6%.
In addition, there are taxes to consider, capital gains tax and estate tax. With proper planning, the estate tax can be avoided or hedged against. Capital Gains tax in the us for non residents is the same as it is for residents if purchasing in the name of an LLC or individual. The maximum federal rate is 28%.  
  • US estate tax for foreigners  
  • US capital gains tax on real estate for foreigners

 

We receive many questions about New York Real Estate.  Are you interested in getting your questions answered? We address them in 'Answers to FAQ's by Foreigners Interested in Buying and Selling NY Real Estate':

I'M INTERESTED!

IF YOU'RE INTERESTED IN LEARNING MORE, WE ARE MORE THAN HAPPY TO MEET WITH YOU! 

SCHEDULE TIME WITH AN EXPERT BELOW: