دليل تأجير الشقق في نيويورك

 

دردش مع أخصائي النقل لدينا

الانتقال إلى مدينة نيويورك هو تحد مثير. انها ليست لضعاف القلوب!  في بعض الحالات ، سيكون من الأسهل شراء شقة من الإيجار ، حيث أن هناك الكثير من الفروق الدقيقة في عملية الإيجار التي لا تملكها العديد من المدن الأخرى. ويستند هذا الدليل خطوة بخطوة على سنوات عديدة من العمل مع عملائنا الذين ينتقلون إلى هنا من جميع أنحاء العالم. بعض السفر فقط بضعة أميال من داخل منطقة ثلاثية الولايات، في حين أن البعض الآخر السفر آلاف الأميال، ومن كل قارة. ونحن نعتقد إذا كنت و ollow هذه الخطوات، والتحقق من المربعات، وجعل التحرك الخاص بك على نحو سلس قدر الإمكان. معرفتنا التفصيلية لسوق العقارات في نيويورك وكيفية جعل الانتقال إلى هنا سلسًا قدر الإمكان يجعل هذا الدليل أساسيًا للقراءة.

نحن نعلم، وأنت تعرف، أن وقتك قيّم. تحتاج إلى نظام للمرة الأولى للانتقال إلى واستئجار شقة في نيويورك. هذا هو. 

 

دليل الإيجار قسمين

 

  1. مواضيع واسعة مثل معرفة أولوياتك، وأسباب العمل مع وسيط، واختيار الحي المناسب، الخ.
  2. موضوعات ضيقة مثل شروط الإيجار القياسية وعملية طلب الإيجار.

 

1. هل تبحث عن استئجار شقة في مدينة نيويورك؟ تعرف على أولوياتك

 

حدد مدى أهمية كل موضوع بالنسبة لك، شخصيًا.

 

  • نقل الوقت إلى مكان عملك. مترو الانفاق، القطار، ومسافات الحافلة على حد سواء من حيث الوقت الذي سوف تنفق الحصول على من المنزل إلى مكتبك والحصول على من وإلى محطات الخاص في سوء الأحوال الجوية. إذا كنت ستسافر في كل مكان عن طريق سيارة أجرة أو دراجة، فإن وسائل النقل العام أقل أهمية.
  • خيارات التسوق وتناول الطعام. كل شيء قابل للتسليم في مدينة نيويورك ، لذلك حيث قد تكون محلات البقالة والمتاجر الأخرى أقل أهمية ولكن إذا كنت ترغب في القيام بذلك بنفسك ، فتحقق من مكان مقارنتها بالمبنى السكني الخاص بك. تناول الطعام، والحانات، والترفيه، وغيرها من الأماكن الاجتماعية، أو المكتبات ومواقع الكلية قد يهم أيضا، لذلك تحقق من هذه أيضا.
  • قد يكون الجو العام للحي مهمًا إذا كنت تعمل متأخرًا ، وغالباً ما تقوم ببعض العمل في المنزل وتريد جيرانًا هادئين. كما قد تكون الشوارع المضاءة جيدًا أو سهولة الوصول إلى الأماكن المفتوحة مهمة أيضًا.
  • إذا كنت تفضل نمط حياة مكتفي ذاتياً، فإن مرافق المستأجرين ووسائل الراحة في مبناك قد تكون على رأس قائمة أولوياتك.

 

أولوياتك تحدد الحي والمبنى الذي تحدده أخيراً.

2. اختيار وسيط الخاص بك بشكل جيد

 

معدلات الشغور في مدينة نيويورك تعمل في حوالي 3٪. الحصول على الشقة المناسبة في المكان المناسب في الوقت المناسب يتطلب الخبرة والجهد والأنظمة والتفاني وسمعة راسخة وجهات اتصال جيدة. تريد الوسيط الخاص بك إلى:

 

  • مناقشة كل شيء معك حتى يكون واضحا ومفهومة.
  • حوّل أهدافك وأولوياتك إلى خطة عمل.
  • قم بالخطة على احتياجاتك العملية وتريد أن تلبي حتى تحقق أهدافك.
  • تطابق احتياجاتك ويريد إلى مواقع محددة، والمباني، والشقق.
  • قم بإعداد المواعيد لعرض الشقق حتى تستخدم الوقت بكفاءة وتتخذ القرارات بفعالية.
  • تعرف على الشقق المناسبة التي قد تصبح متاحة ولكن لم يتم سردها بعد للإيجار.
  • ساعد في إعداد عقد الإيجار والحصول على موافقة من الشقة أو مجلس التعاون في المبنى الذي تختاره.
  • قدم لك أي دعم آخر مثل قوائم المهنيين الموثوق بها قد تحتاج إلى الاتصال بها ، والمشورة والأفكار لجعل حركتك سهلة قدر الإمكان.

 

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن هناك الكثير من السماسرة والشركات العقارية في مدينة نيويورك. يركز البعض على كسب الرسوم في أسرع وقت ممكن وبكفاءة. نحن نركز على تلبية احتياجات عملائنا ومساعدتهم على تحقيق أهدافهم.

 

باعتبارها واحدة من شركات الوساطة الكبرى في مدينة نيويورك مع قاعدة عملاء عالمية ، ينصب تركيزنا على كسب الحق في علاقة تجارية طويلة الأجل. العديد من عملائنا تأجير تصبح أصحاب العقارات، وكثير منهم يصبحون الملاك الذين يريدون منا العثور على المستأجرين الجودة. بناء هذه العلاقات يتطلب الاحتراف والالتزام ورعاية العملاء. هذا ما نجلبه إلى كل صفقة. لنجد لك تلك الشقة المثالية هي مجرد خطوة #1

3. تعلم ما يكفي عن مدينة نيويورك

 

بعض الناس الذين ينتقلون إلى مدينة نيويورك يأتون من بلدات صغيرة وبعضها من المدن العالمية الكبرى. مدينة نيويورك هي مدينة سريعة الخطى ومتعددة الأوجه. ما يقرب من 3 ملايين من سكان نيويورك جاءوا من مكان آخر. مدينة نيويورك سوف تكون جاهزة بالنسبة لك ، لذلك لا دورك لتكون على استعداد لذلك!

 

تذكر أنه من المحتمل أن يتم تحديد المكان الذي تعيش فيه من خلال المكان الذي تعمل فيه. داخل كل حي هناك مناطق أصغر. معظم سكان نيويورك يقضون الكثير من وقتهم في، ربما، منطقة 10 إلى 20 كتلة من مكاتبهم ومنزلهم.

 

لا يمكنك اختيار موقع المكتب، لذا اقضي بعض الوقت في اختيار موقع منزلك. ما مدى حيوية أو هدوء، ما هي التقاليد الثقافية المفضلة، ما هي المجموعات العرقية المهيمنة؟ النظر في هذه كما نظرتم إلى الشقق.

 

ساعدنا على فهم تفضيلاتك وسوف نبنيها في خطة العمل.

 

أحياء مانهاتن

 

لمساعدتك في الحصول على يشعر للمناطق المحلية قد ترغب في القيام ببعض البحوث المسبقة. قد تساعدك هذه المواقع على الويب:

 

جوجل الأرض دعونا نأخذ جولة افتراضية في أي مدينة وحي.

 

الترجمة. المدينة سوف اقول لكم عن أي مشاريع البناء، وجهات النظر من المباني، وما إلى ذلك في منطقة.

 

سيقوم تقرير العنوان بإنشاء خرائط حول عنوان معين حتى تتمكن من التعرف على الحدائق المحلية وأوقات التنقل وما إلى ذلك.

 

نيويورك مشاهدة معالم الطريق باس لديه الكثير من المعلومات حول مدينة نيويورك ، ونظام مترو الانفاق ، وما إلى ذلك يمكنك تحميل هالك الهاتف أو الكمبيوتر المحمول.

 

الانتقال إلى دليل تأجير الشقق في مدينة نيويورك

4. تعرف على نوع الشقة التي تريدها

 

تحقق من الصور الفوتوغرافية للحصول على يشعر لهذا النوع من الشقة التي تريدها - الحجم، مستوى الكلمة، عرض، الضوء الطبيعي، الخ. عندما كنت على وشك زيارة الشقق المحتملة الحصول على نسخة من مخططات floorplans إذا كانت متاحة. مخططات الطوابق تظهر تخطيط الغرفة بالضبط، والأحجام، ومواقع النوافذ والأبواب، الخ.

 

هذا "على مستوى عال" استكشاف سوف تساعدك على تحديد أولويات الوحدات الممكنة، وتساعدك على التخطيط لتحديد المواقع الأثاث، ومواقع الأجهزة، وهلم جرا. عند زيارة كل شقة سوف تكون بالفعل على دراية بها، لذلك اتخاذ قرار سيكون أسهل بكثير ومؤكد.

 

5. تأجير قبل الشراء

 

إذا كان للمرء أن ينفق ملايين الدولارات على الاستثمار ، فمن الحكمة القيام ببعض البحوث أولا. كما لا يوجد سوى الكثير الذي يمكنك أن تقول عن شخص ما من سيرته الذاتية ، من المهم أن تعرف كيف يقف حي خارج الإحصاءات. هناك عناصر شخصية وذاتية لكل عقار يجدبعض المشترين أنهم لا يقدرونه إلا من العيش في المنطقة أولاً - عن طريق التأجير. بضعة أشهر في شقة قريبة يمكن أن تحدث كل الفرق عند اتخاذ قرار من أين لشراء.

 

لتلبية هذه الحاجة، هناك ظاهرة جديدة التي ظهرت وسط العقارات في مانهاتن المعروفة باسم الهجينة الشقة الإيجار. من خلال استئجار أولا ، وشراء في وقت لاحق ، والمستثمر الانتقائي لديه فرصة لبناء علاقة مع الإدارة ، لتخفيف ها في عملية انتقال الشراء. كما أنه يسمح لهم بمعرفة ما يمكن توقعه بالضبط مع شقتهم ، والحي الجديد المحيط بهم.

 

شراء العقارات السكنية في مانهاتن يمكن أن يكون شأنا عاطفيا، وخصوصا عندما تشارك الأسر. من خلال تخفيف في حيهم الجديد، فإنه يزيل بعض عدم اليقين والقلق. بمجرد أن تستقر العائلة ، يصبح الأمر مجرد عمل ورقي لإنهاء الصفقة.

 

ويفضل آخرون الإيجار في مبنى قريب. من خلال اتخاذ بضعة أشهر قريبة من أنها قادرة على توسيع نطاق نقاط الضعف المحتملة لاستخدامها لصالح المساومة. كيم كارداشيان ورفاقها الحزب الرقص على الموسيقى الصاخبة طوال الليل عبر الشارع؟ رائحة غريبة من الزقاق الخلفي؟ قريب جداً للراحة مع المتظاهرين المحتلين؟ هذه تصبح سهام للجعابة في عملية التفاوض. المستثمر داهية يعرف منتجه من الداخل والخروج ، وأن المعرفة تصبح المفتاح عند ضرب أسفل الخدع سمسار العقارات.

 

ومع ذلك ، لم يكن هناك وقت أسوأ للإيجار. الإيجارات في مستويات قياسية ، وأنها لا تبقي على ارتفاع ، مع متوسط سعر الإيجار ارتفاع 7.9 في المئة عن نفس الربع من العام الماضي. ولكن ، بالنسبة لشخص يبحث عن منزلهم الأساسي ، فإن الإيجار قبل الشراء يمكن أن يكون شيئًا ذكيًا جدًا للقيام به. حفظ الأمور في نصابها الصحيح ، بضعة آلاف من الدولارات في حي جديد هو قطرة في دلو للمستثمر خطيرة عدة ملايين من الدولارات. القليل من الاستطلاع ليشعر النبض وبعض القدمين في الشارع الوقت يمكن أن يكون أفضل استثمار لقد جعلت من أي وقت مضى.

 

6. تعرف على عملية الإيجار

 

قوانين مدينة نيويورك تحمي حقوق المستأجرين. كما تضمن القوانين الفيدرالية مثل قانون الإسكان العادل وقانون الأميركيين ذوي الإعاقة معاملة الجميع بإنصاف وأمانة ولطف. المواطنون الأمريكيون سيكونون بالفعل على دراية بقوانيننا، ولكن كمستأجر في الخارج من الجيد أن نعرف أن لدينا كل شيء مغطى.

 

تجعل قوانيننا استئجار شقة آمنة من المتاعب ، ولكنها تعني أيضًا أن المالكين يتحققون بعناية للتأكد من أن المستأجر سيستوفي جميع القواعد واللوائح وسيرقإلى جانبهم من اتفاقية الإيجار.

 

تختار شركات الإدارة مستأجرين جديرين بالثقة وجديرين بالائتمان وسليمين ماليًا يحترمون العقار والجيران الذين يمتلكون أو يستأجرون في نفس المبنى.

 

ستقوم شركة الإدارة بمعالجة جميع قضايا الإيجار من طلب الإيجار إلى توقيع الإيجار والترتيبات المالية وموافقات مجلس الإدارة وصيانة الممتلكات وما إلى ذلك. شركات الإدارة مسؤولة لمالك العقار، لجميع سكان المبنى الآخرين، ولكل مستأجر.

 

المستأجرين معقولة اختيار وسيط لتمثيلهم الذين هم بالفعل على دراية، ليس فقط مع هذا النوع من الهيكل، ولكن سوف تعرف أيضا الموظفين في شركات الإدارة. هذا المستوى من الارتباط ينعم العملية ويوفر لك الوقت والجهد وخيبة الأمل.

7- وثيقة الإيجار

 

وينشر المجلس العقاري في نيويورك وثائق إيجار قياسية. تستخدم العديد من شركات الإدارة نفس المستند ولكنها قد تضيف بنودًا وشروطًا محددة لتناسب المبنى أو المالك.

 

سنقدم لك نسخة من عقد الإيجار القياسي حتى تتمكن من التعرف عليه ، وتسهيل التحقق من تفاصيل اتفاقية تأجير معينة ، في وقت لاحق.

 

تحقق من الوثيقة (أو اسألنا) ما إذا كان يمكنك من الباطن الشقة، ما إذا كان يمكنك تزيين بإذن أو بدون، الخ.

 

نوصي دائمًا بأن يكون لديك محامي عقاري يشرح الطباعة الدقيقة وللتأكد من حماية مصالح المستأجر بشكل كامل. معرفة حقوقك ومسؤولياتك هو شعور جيد للأعمال.

 

دليل تأجير الشقق في نيويورك

8- مدة الإيجار

 

معظم عقود الإيجار لمدة سنة تقويمية واحدة. عقود الإيجار لفترة أطول من عامين ليست شائعة.

 

سيكون هناك بند في عقد إيجار أطول يتيح تغيير الإيجار بعد السنة الأولى. وينبغي شرح طريقة حساب تغيير الإيجار في هذا البند.

 

شقة في مبنى شيدت قبل عام 1974 مع ست وحدات أو أكثر قد تكون عرضة لتثبيت الإيجار. وتقيد اللوائح بالمبلغ الذي يمكن أن يُرفع الإيجار كل سنة، وتكفل تجديد الإيجار للمستأجر.

9. عملية طلب الإيجار

 

القاعدة #1: التخطيط للمستقبل. يجب أن تكون راضيًا عن المبنى والشقة ووسائل الراحة المستأجرة وشركة الإدارة وتفاصيل اتفاقية الإيجار. يجب أن يكون المالك ومجلس الشقق وشركة الإدارة راضيًا عنك.

 

من المفيد أن يكون كل شيء في مكانه قبل تقديم طلبك. وبصرف النظر عن ما هو واضح، فإنه يظهر للجميع مهنيتك.

 

ستقوم شركة الإدارة بإجراء فحص كامل للخلفية وتقديمها إلى المالك ومجلس الشقة ، لذلك تقدم جميع المعلومات اللازمة دون خطأ أو إغفال.

 

لديك حساب مصرفي في الولايات المتحدة تظهر الأموال المناسبة. ستحتاج، كحد أدنى، إلى مبلغ يعادل مبلغ الإيجار الأول والأخير، بالإضافة إلى وديعة الضمان (عادة ما تساوي إيجار شهر واحد) بالإضافة إلى رسوم طلب اتفاقية الإيجار، وما إلى ذلك.  ومن المنطقي أن يكون هناك توازن أعلى من هذا لتغطية نفقات المرافق والمعيشة وغيرها من النفقات، وللإشارة إلى الاستقرار المالي.

 

قد يُطلب منك تقديم وديعة "حسن نية" قابلة للاسترداد، لكي يأخذ المالك الشقة من السوق حتى تكتمل عملية تقديم الطلب.

 

يمكن أن يستغرق القبول ما يصل إلى أسبوع بعد تقديم طلبك.

 

بعد القبول، سيتم دفع الإيجار ووديعة التأمين. الشيكات الشخصية غير مقبولة. تقبل شركات الإدارة إما الشيكات المضمونة من البنوك أو التحويلات البرقية المؤكدة.

 

تتضمن تفاصيل طلب الإيجار ما يلي:

 

  • الاسم الكامل لمقدم الطلب.
  • العنوان الحالي والسابق.
  • تفاصيل صاحب العمل السابقة والحالية (لتأكيد حالتك.)
  • رقم الضمان الاجتماعي، الهوية الضريبية، هوية ولاية نيويورك، أو غيرها من بطاقات الهوية المناسبة (تفاصيل التأشيرة وجواز السفر، وما إلى ذلك إذا كنت من الخارج.)
  • إثبات الدخل السنوي
  • أوراق التحقق من الأصول مثل الأسهم والسندات التي تم الاحتفاظ بها ، والعقارات المملوكة ، وما إلى ذلك بما في ذلك البيانات المصرفية من شهرين إلى 3 أشهر ، وما إلى ذلك. من المهم أن تظهر دخلك حوالي 40 -50 ضعف الإيجار الشهري.
  • المراجع ووثائق التحقق من التوظيف من صاحب العمل الحالي (أو السابق) والمالك (المالكين) السابقين بما في ذلك تفاصيل الاتصال الخاصة بهم.
  • الإقرارات الضريبية للسنوات السابقة (أول صفحتين فقط، لإظهار الدخل الإجمالي والخاضع للضريبة).)
  • تفويض الشركة الإدارية لإجراء فحص ائتماني

 

تفاصيل الضامن

 

قد يحتاج مقدم الطلب في الخارج الذي ليس لديه سجل ائتماني أمريكي ، أو شخص لديه نقطة في خلفيته الائتمانية ، إلى توفير ضامن حتى يعلم الجميع أنه في حالة التخلف عن السداد ، سيتم دفع الإيجار والنفقات الأخرى الملتزم بها في الوقت المحدد.

 

يجب على الضامنين أن يظهروا أنهم آمنون مالياً وأن دخلهم هو 80 - 100 ضعف الإيجار الشهري.

 

يمكننا مناقشة هذه الحاجة المحتملة معك قبل وقت طويل من تقديم الطلب. سنعرف أيضًا كيفية ترجمة تاريخ التوظيف والائتمان في الخارج ، وما إلى ذلك إلى شيء من شأنه أن يساعد على تلبية شروط "الوضع المالي والقدرة على الدفع".

 

إذا لزم الأمر ، هناك شركات تعمل ، مقابل رسوم ، كضامن رسمي. مرة أخرى، كوسيط الخاص بك، سوف تحصل على كل الدعم التفصيلي الذي تحتاجه مع هذا.

 

موافقة مجلس الإدارة

 

قد ترغب بعض كيانات البناء، مثل التعاونية بدلاً من شقة سكنية مباشرة إلى الأمام (Condo) في إجراء مقابلة شخصية لمقابلتك ومراجعة أوراق طلبك شخصيًا. إذا كان هذا هو الحال، سوف نساعدك على التحضير للاجتماع للتأكد من أن كل شيء في النظام وأنت تعرف نوع المواضيع التي يرغبون في مناقشتها.

 

"الفرق بين الشقة وحظيرة"

10. دفع الإيجار والرسوم الأخرى

 

إعداد الدفعات التلقائية مباشرة من حسابك المصرفي.

11. تأمين المستأجر

 

تأخذ التأمين لتغطية الخسائر والأضرار التي لحقت البنود الشخصية وكذلك، على سبيل المثال، خزانة في شقتك. في حين أن التجهيزات والتجهيزات تنتمي إلى المالك ، قد تكون مسؤولة إذا قمت بإتلافها.

 

الولايات المتحدة هي مجتمع حيث غالبا ما تستخدم التقاضي لحل المشاكل. لذلك قد يكون من الحكمة تضمين تغطية المسؤولية الشخصية في حالة إصابة الزائر لنفسه في شقتك. كثير من الناس تحمل أيضا تغطية التأمين مظلة منخفضة التكلفة.

 

سيناقش وكيل التأمين الخاص بك كل شيء بالتفصيل حتى تتمكن من اتخاذ قرار بشأن التغطية المناسبة ومدفوعات القسط.

12. تعليق نهائي

 

يغطي دليل تأجير الشقق في مدينة نيويورك أساسيات الانتقال إلى مانهاتن ، والعثور على شقة ، وفهم عملية طلب الإيجار ، وتفاصيل الإيجار. سيكون لديك العديد من الأسئلة، لذا يرجى تذكر أننا هنا لدعم وإسداء المشورة لك، لذلك يمكنك اتخاذ جميع القرارات الصحيحة.

هدفنا هو التأكد من تحقيق أهدافك كخطوة أولى لبناء علاقة عمل طويلة الأمد.

 "التكيف مع الحياة في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية"
"الانتقال إلى ميامي: الدليل النهائي"

 

تأجير شقة فاخرة مدينة نيويورك

 

 

جدولة دردشة سريعة مع أخصائي النقل لدينا

سواء كنت تبحث لاستئجار لدينا شراء شقة في مانهاتن نحن هنا للمساعدة.

 

الانتقال من جميع أنحاء العالم أو حتى فقط في جميع أنحاء البلاد يأتي مع ظروففريدة خاصة بها. لقد كرس فريق النقل لدينا نفسه لما يقرب من عقدين من الزمن لضمان أن تكون حركتك تجربة سلسة لا تنسى.

 

جدولة شخص
اجتماع مع فريقنا

جدولة اجتماع

هل أحتاج إلى سمسار عقارات؟

Moving to NYC

Apartment Rental Guide

Chat With Our Relocation Specialist

Moving to New York City is an exciting challenge. It's not for the faint of heart!  In some cases, it would be easier to buy an apartment than rent, as there are a lot of nuances in the renting process that many other cities just don't have. This step-by-step guide is based on our many years of working with our clients who move here from all over the world. Some just travel a few miles from within the tri-state area, while others travel thousands of miles, and from every continent. We believe if you follow these steps, check the boxes, and make your move as smooth as possible. Our detailed knowledge of the New York real estate market and how to make moving here as smooth as possible make this guide essential reading.

We know, and you know, that your time is valuable. You need a right-the-first-time system for moving to and renting an apartment in New York. This is it. 

 

The Rental Guide Two Sections

 

  1. Broad topics such as knowing your priorities, reasons for working with a Broker, and choosing the right neighborhood, etc.
  2. Narrow topics such as standard lease terms and the lease application process.

 

1. Looking to Rent an Apartment in NYC? Know Your Priorities

 

Decide how important each topic is to you, personally.

 

  • Commute time to your place of business. Subway, train, and bus distances matter both in terms of the time you will spend getting from home to your office and getting to and from your stops in bad weather. If you will travel everywhere by cab or bicycle, public transportation is less important.
  • Shopping and dining options. Everything is deliverable in NYC, so where grocery and other stores are may be less important but if you want to do it yourself, check out where they are compared to your apartment building. Dining, bars, entertainment, other social venues, or libraries and college locations may also matter, so check these too.
  • The neighborhood's general ambience may be important if you work late, often do some work at home and you want quiet neighbors. Well-lit streets or easy access to open spaces may also matter.
  • If you prefer a self-sufficient lifestyle, then the tenant facilities in your building may be at the top of your list of priorities.

 

Your priorities determine the neighborhood and the building you finally select.

2. Choose Your Broker Well

 

Vacancy rates in NYC run at about 3%. Getting the right apartment in the right place at the right time takes experience, effort, systems, dedication, a solid reputation, and good contacts. You want your Broker to:

 

  • Discuss everything with you so it is clear and understood.
  • Convert your goals and priorities into a plan of action.
  • Base the plan on your practical needs and wants you must satisfy so you achieve your goals.
  • Match your needs and wants to specific locations, buildings, and apartments.
  • Set up appointments to view apartments so you use time efficiently and make decisions effectively.
  • Know of suitable apartments that may become available but are not yet listed for rent.
  • Assist with lease preparation and getting approval by the condo or coop board in the building where your chosen apartment is.
  • Provide you with any other support such as lists of reliable professionals you may need to call on, advice and ideas to make your move as easy as possible.

 

It is worth noting that there are a lot of Brokers and real estate companies in NYC. Some focus on earning the fees as quickly and efficiently as possible. We focus on meeting our client's needs and helping them achieve their goals.

 

As one of NYC's major brokerage companies with a global client base, our focus is on earning the right to a long-term business relationship. Many of our rental clients become property owners, and many of them become landlords who want us to find quality tenants. Building those relationships takes professionalism, commitment, and client care. That is what we bring to every transaction. To us, finding you that perfect apartment is just our Step #1.

3. Learn Enough About NYC

 

Some people who move to NYC come from small towns and some from major global cities. NYC is a fast-paced, multi-faceted metropolis. Approximately 3 million New Yorkers came from somewhere else. NYC will be ready for you, so do your part to be ready for it!

 

Remember that where you live will probably be determined by where you work. Within each neighborhood there are smaller districts. Most New Yorkers spend much of their time in, maybe, a 10 to 20-block area of their office and their home.

 

You can't choose the office location, so spend time choosing your home' location. How lively or quiet, what are the preferred cultural traditions, what are the dominant ethnic groups? Consider these as you look at apartments.

 

Help us to understand your preferences and we will build them into the plan of action.

 

To help you get a feel for local areas you may want to do some advance research. These websites may help you:

 

Google Earth let's you take a virtual tour of any city and neighborhood.

 

Localize. City will tell you about any construction projects, views from buildings, etc. in an area.

 

Address Report will create maps around a specific address so you can learn about local parks, commute times, etc.

 

The New York Sightseeing Pass has a lot of information about NYC, the subway system, etc. you can download to your phone or laptop.

4. Know the Kind of Apartment You Want

 

Check out photographs to get a feel for the sort of apartment you want – size, floor level, view, natural light, etc. When you are about to visit possible apartments get a copy of the floorplans if available. Floorplans show the exact room layout, sizes, locations of windows and doors, etc.

 

This "high-level" exploring will help you to prioritize possible units, help you to plan furniture positioning, appliance locations, and so on. When you visit each apartment you will already be familiar with them, so making a decision will be that much easier and certain.

 

5. Renting Before You Buy

 

If one is to spend millions of dollars on an investment, it's wise to do some research first. Just as there is only so much you can tell about someone from their resume, it's important to know how a neighborhood stands up beyond the statistics. There are personal, subjective elements to every property that some buyers are finding they can only appreciate from living in the area first - by renting. A few months in a nearby flat can make all the difference when deciding where to buy.

 

To address this need, there is a new phenomenon that is popping amidst real estate in Manhattanknown as condo-rental hybrids. By renting first, buying later, the selective investor has a chance to build a relationship with the management, to ease them into the buying transition. It also allows them to know exactly what to expect with their apartment, and the new neighborhood surrounding them.

 

Buying residential real estate in Manhattan can be an emotional affair, especially when families are involved. By easing into their new neighborhood, it eliminates some uncertainty and anxiety. Once a family has settled in, it becomes just a matter of paperwork to finalize the transaction.

 

Others prefer to rent in a nearby building. By taking a few months close by they are able to scope out potential weaknesses to use for bargaining advantage. Kim Kardashian and her party pals dance to loud music all night across the street? Strange smells from the back alley? Too close for comfort with the Occupy protestors? These become arrows for the quiver in the negotiation process. A shrewd investor knows his product inside and out, and that knowledge becomes key when striking down a realtor’s bluffs.

 

However, there has never been a worse time to rent. Rents are at record highs, and they keep getting higher, with the median rental price shooting up 7.9 percent from the same quarter last year. But, for someone looking for their primary home, then renting before you buy can be a very savvy thing to do. Keeping things in perspective, a few thousand dollars in a new neighborhood is a drop in the bucket for the serious multi-million dollar investor. A little reconnaissance to feel the pulse and some feet-on-the-street time could be the best investment they’ve ever made.

 

6. Know the Rental Process

 

NYC's laws protect tenants' rights. Federal laws such as The Fair Housing Act and Americans with Disabilities Act also ensure that everyone is treated fairly, honestly, and courteously. American citizens will already be familiar with our laws, but as an overseas tenant it is good to know we have it all covered.

 

Our laws make renting an apartment safe from hassle, but it also means landlords check carefully to make sure the tenant will satisfy all the rules and regulations and will live up to their side of the lease agreement.

 

Management companies select trustworthy, credit-worthy, financially sound tenants who will respect the property and the neighbors who own or rent in the same building.

 

The management company will handle all tenancy issues from lease application to lease-signing, financial arrangements, board approvals, property maintenance, etc. Management companies owe a responsibility to the property owner, to all the building's other residents, and to each tenant.

 

Sensible tenants choose a Broker to represent them who is already familiar, not only with this kind of structure, but will also know the personnel in the management companies. This level of association smooths the process and saves you time, effort and disappointment.

7. The Lease Document

 

The Real Estate Board of New York publishes standard lease documents. Many management companies use the same document but may add specific clauses and conditions to suit a building or a landlord.

 

We will give you a copy of the standard lease so you can become familiar with it, and to make it easier for you to check the specifics of a particular lease agreement, later.

 

Check the document (or ask us) whether you can sublet the apartment, whether you can decorate with or without permission, etc.

 

We always recommend you have a real estate attorney explain the fine print and to make sure your tenant interests are fully protected. Knowing your rights and responsibilities is good business sense.

8. Lease Duration

 

Most leases are for one calendar year. Leases longer than two years are not common.

 

There will be a clause in a longer lease enabling a change in rent after the first year. The way the rent change is calculated should be explained in that clause.

 

An apartment in a building constructed before 1974 with six or more units may be subject to rent stabilization. The regulations limit by how much a rent may be raised each year, and they guarantee lease-renewal for the tenant.

9. Lease Application Process

 

Rule #1: Plan ahead. You must be satisfied with the building, the apartment, the tenant amenities, the management company, and the lease agreement details. The landlord, condo board, and management company must be satisfied with you.

 

It pays to have everything in place before you submit your application. Apart from the obvious, it shows everyone your professionalism.

 

The management company will carry out a full background check and submit it to the landlord and condo board, so provide all necessary information without error or omission.

 

Have a US bank account showing suitable funds. You will need, as a minimum, an amount equal to the first and last month's rental amount, plus the security deposit (usually equal to one month's rent) plus lease agreement application fees, etc.  It makes sense to have a higher balance than this to cover utility, living and other expenses, and to indicate financial stability.

 

You may be asked to make a refundable "good faith" deposit, for the landlord to take the apartment off the market until the application process is complete.

 

Acceptance can take up to a week after submitting your application.

 

On acceptance, the rent and security deposit will be paid over. Personal checks are not acceptable. Management companies accept either bank-guaranteed checks or confirmed wire transfers.

 

Lease Application details include:

 

  • Applicant's full name.
  • Current and previous address.
  • Past and current employer details (to confirm your status.)
  • Social Security Number, tax id, New York State id, or other suitable identification (visa and passport details, etc. if you are from overseas.)
  • Proof of annual income
  • Asset verification paperwork such as stocks and bonds held, real estate owned, etc. including 2 - 3 months bank statements, etc. It is important to show your income is about 40 - 50 times the monthly rent.
  • References and employment verification documents from your current (or previous) employer and previous landlord(s) including their contact details.
  • Prior years' tax returns (the first two pages only, to show gross and taxable income.)
  • Authorization for the management company to carry out a credit check

 

Guarantor Details

 

An overseas applicant with no US credit record, or someone with a blip in their credit background, may need to provide a guarantor so everyone knows that, in case of default, the rent and other committed expenses will be paid on time.

 

Guarantors must show they are financially secure and that their income is 80 – 100 times the monthly rent.

 

We can discuss this possible need with you long before you apply. We will also know how to translate your overseas' employment and credit history, etc. into something that will help to meet the "financial status and ability to pay" conditions.

 

If necessary, there are companies that, for a fee, will act as an official guarantor. Again, as your Broker, you will get all the detailed support you need with this.

 

Board Approval

 

Some building entities, such as a co-operative rather than a straightforward condominium (condo) may want a personal interview to meet you and review your application paperwork in person. If this is the case, we will help you prepare for the meeting to make sure everything is in order and you know the sort of topics they will want to discuss.

10. Paying the Rent and Other Charges

 

Set up automatic payments directly from your bank account.

11. Tenant Insurance

 

Take out insurance to cover loss and damage to personal items as well as to, say, cabinetry in your apartment. While fixtures and fittings belong to the owner, you may be liable if you damage them.

 

The USA is a society where litigation is often used to solve problems. It may be prudent, therefore, to include personal liability cover in case a visitor injures themselves in your apartment. Many people also carry low-cost umbrella insurance cover.

 

Your insurance agent will discuss everything in detail so you can decide on the appropriate cover and premium payments.

12. A Final Comment

 

This guide covers the basics of relocating to NYC, finding an apartment, and understanding the lease application process, and tenancy details. You will have many questions, so please remember we are here to support and advise you, so you make all the right decisions.

Our goal is to make sure you achieve your goals as our first step to building a long-standing business relationship.

 

 

Schedule a quick chat with our Relocation Specialist

Whether you are looking to rent our purchase an apartment in Manhattan we are here to help.

 

Moving from across the globe or even just across the country comes with its own unique circumstances. Our relocation team has dedicated itself for almost two decades to ensure your move is a smooth and memorable experience.

SCHEDULE AN IN-PERSON
MEETING WITH OUR TEAM

SCHEDULE A MEETING

Do I need a Realtor?