1031 EXCHANGE RULES - 资本利得税减免

接洽专家

1031交换是美国国税局允许的投资性房产的税延交换。所谓 "交换 "不是指两个业主之间的实际财产交换,而是指卖掉一个财产并购买另一个财产的过程。国税法第1031条规范了这些交易,因此才会提到1031交换。

当一项资产的销售价格高于其原始购买价格时,就会产生资本收益。资本收益对个人而言,至少要交15%的税,对公司而言,则要交35%的税。1031交换将资本利得税推迟到比通常情况下更晚缴纳的日期。 

的优点 1031 EXCHANGE RULES

递延税款交换的主要优点是,纳税人可以在不产生任何即时税负的情况下处置财产。这使得纳税人在交换资产的同时,还能保留递延税款的盈利能力。舉例來說,與其賣出投資物業並繳納資本利得稅,然後用淨收益購買另一物業,不如讓投資者放棄繳納資本利得稅,而用出售物業的總收益投資於新物業,從而將資本利得稅遞延至新物業出售時才繳納。另一个好处是,投资者的继承人可以获得这种继承财产的阶梯式基础。虽然投资者收到的财产基础减少了(例如,旧财产的基础),但在投资者死亡后,其继承人将按转让给继承人之日的公平市场价值获得财产。当继承人去出售财产时,他们将按新的销售价格与继承时财产的公平市场价值之间的差额缴纳税款。

 

实物

1031 Exchange rules 要求这两种财产必须是 "同类 "财产。该规则认为,住宅投资财产与商业投资财产的交换,反之亦然,则为同类财产。但是,该财产必须在美国境内,因为根据该规则,美国财产换取外国财产不被视为 "同类 "财产。


1031交换的弊端

纳税人还应该考虑到以下几个方面的弊端,即:1.纳税人还应该考虑到递延税交换有以下几个方面的弊端。

  1. 更换后的房产将减少基础(即税额),因为旧房产的较低基础将转移到新房产上。正因为如此,纳税人在新财产上的折旧扣除额将比他或她在没有进行1031交换的情况下购买该财产时的折旧额要低。
  2. 完成递延税的交换会增加交易成本,因为业主会产生额外的专业费用。
  3. 除再投资于不动产外,纳税人不得将处置财产的净收益用于任何其他用途。否则,不用作再投资的收益将承担税收后果。

 

合格的中介机构

1031交换需要有一个合格的中介机构来处理整个过程,如《国内税收法》第1031条所定义的合格中介机构。所有出售所得的收益,包括非现金收益(如您在交易房产的同时,可能会收到一艘船),都必须交给合格中介,用于购买新房产。卖方直接或间接收到的任何东西(无论多么微不足道)都将取消整个交易的资格,导致整个交易的收益被确认(如果是外国买家,则会导致FIRPTA预扣)。

 

非常具体的规定:识别期和交换期

  1. 新的房产必须位于美国境内。
  2. 从旧房成交日开始,卖方有45个日历日,向合格中介提供一份他们想买的房产清单(这份清单被称为 "45天清单",一般情况下,清单上的房产不止一个,以防交易失败)。
  3. 从旧房成交日起,卖方有180个日历日的时间购买The 45天清单上的一套或多套房产。
  4. 旧房产的卖方必须以其拥有旧房产的同一法律名称取得新房产的所有权。
  5. 卖方必须以相当于或高于旧房的销售价格购买新房,其金额必须等于或高于旧房的销售价格。
  6. 出售旧房产的现金,在支付过户费用和负债后,必须交给合格的中介机构,用于购买新房产。

必须严格遵守45天的时限,因为即使第45天是星期六、星期日或美国法定假日,也不能以任何方式延长。交换期的截止日期为转让放弃财产之日之后的180天,或者在转让放弃财产的应纳税年度的纳税申报日(以较早者为准)。同样,必须严格遵守180天的时限,因为即使第180天是在星期六、星期日或美国法定假日,也不能以任何方式延长。

1031 Exchange Rules - 递延税汇兑

 

外国投资者的1031交换 

非美国卖家也可以获得1031资产处理的资格。 

美国政府允许外国卖家使用1031交换条款。除了上述的正常规则外,FIRPTA还规定了一个额外的要求,以避免10%的预扣款。额外的要求是,负责将旧财产从外国卖方转让给买方/受让人的个人(如产权或托管公司)必须从外国卖方那里收到以下两种情况:(1)外国卖方必须在美国政府的规定下,将旧财产转让给买方/受让人。

  1. 由国税局签发的预扣税证,制裁特定的交易所,允许受让方避免预扣任何税款,或:
  2. 外国卖方的通知书,证明卖方已申请了预扣押证。

首先,任何外国房产所有者应在转让任何房产之前就提前计划好,提前获得ITIN,并在安排好房产转让后尽快申请预扣证书。其次,任何希望完成1031交换的外国卖家在销售过程中,必须在销售过程的早期就向有经验的专业中介咨询,并从有经验的顾问那里获得税务或财务方面的咨询,以协助他们完成交易和美国的报税过程。如果您需要合格的中介机构的推荐,请告诉我们。 

我国注册会计师的额外资源。

一般来说,第1031节转让,或类似实物交换,是指在美国投资性房地产出售或交换时,用于推迟投资性房地产的资本利得税的一种方法。 房地产业,被认为是 "像-慈祥 财产"意思是,实际投资性房地产必须换成投资性房地产,而不是用于个人原因的房地产或非房地产资产。我们假定,就本备忘录的目的而言,满足第1031条的要求,但不作决定。

然而,在本案中,该财产为非美国人(外国个人)所拥有,这也使这一交易属于《外国投资回报税法》的范畴。FIRPTA的预扣税根据第1445条的规则进行。根据FIRPTA的规定,如果从非居民外国人处购买房产,美国买家必须预扣交易中的房产价值的15%,并将其送交国税局。但是,由于这是1031交易,在有限的情况下,如果满足某些条件,则无需预扣。

一般来说,根据第1.1445-2(d)(2)条,如果有预扣的例外情况,例如,如果转让人向受让人提供书面通知,说明由于《税法》的不承认条款,转让人无需承认转让的任何收益或损失,并且受让人在转让后20天内将书面通知提供给国税局,地址如下:

P.O. Box 21086, Drop Point 8731, FIRPTA Unit, Philadelphia, PA 19114-0586

根据第1445-2(d)(2)(三)条,该书面通知必须包含以下信息,并由转让人、非居民外国人即非居民外国人核实其真实性,并在作伪证的情况下签字:

  1. (a) 根据第1.1445-2(d)(2)节的要求,提交的文件构成不承认交易通知或条约规定的声明;

  2. (b) 外国人的姓名、社会保险号(或其他识别号码)和家庭住址;

  3. (c) 关于外国个人无需确认任何转让收益或损失的声明;

  4. (d) 关于转让的简要说明;以及

  5. (e) 关于法律的简要概述,本案中的第1031条,以及支持承认这一主张的事实。

    损益的转移,不需要对收益或亏损进行评估。

 

除上述步骤外,第1445-2(d)(2)(iv)条规定,上述预扣款豁免只适用于第1031条交易的参与者,如果交易是同时进行的,即根据第1031条交易的两笔转让在同一天生效。此外,外国个人在交易中必须没有收到任何赃款,如现金等。因此,如果外国个人交出的财产价值高于外国个人收到的财产,并且有一笔现金支付给外国个人以对价,那么FIRPTA就会被触发,并且必须扣缴。如果外国个人所交出的财产没有抵押,但收到的财产有抵押权,而且抵押权被承担,也会出现这种情况。

在没有满足第1031条的特殊限制,即同时要求和无启动要求的情况下,避免FIRPTA扣款的唯一途径是获得国税局的扣款证书。这种证书的细节和规划不在本备忘录的范围之内。总结一下,假设在其他方面符合第1031条的要求,需要采取以下步骤:

  1. 1)确保绝对没有开机,也就是说,在兑换中没有向境外个人转移现金。

  2. 2) 确保交换合同和结算文件明确规定两笔交易在同一天生效。

  3. 3) 确保外国个人向交易所的另一方提供载有上述通知要求的书面不承认通知。

  4. 4)确保收到通知的另一交易方将通知寄给国税局,地址如下:

              a.P.O. Box 21086, Drop Point 8731, FIRPTA Unit, Philadelphia, PA 19114-0586

应征求法律顾问的意见,并提供法律意见,以确保这些事项在结束时完成。

 

投资迈阿密

 

安排与我们的团队进行面谈

约见

我需要房地产经纪人吗?

1031 EXCHANGE RULES - 
CAPITAL GAINS TAX DEFFERAL

CONNECT WITH AN EXPERT

A 1031 Exchange is a tax-deferred exchange that the IRS allows on investment property. “Exchange” refers not to the actual exchange of properties between two owners, but to the process of selling of one property and buying another. Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code governs these transactions, hence the reference to 1031 Exchange.

A capital gain results when the selling price of an asset is higher than its original purchase price. Capital gains are subject to a minimum of 15% tax for individuals and a 35% tax for corporations. A 1031 Exchange defers the capital gains tax to a later date than it would normally be paid. 

ADVANTAGES OF 1031 EXCHANGE RULES

The primary advantage of a tax-deferred exchange is that the taxpayer may dispose of property without incurring any immediate tax liability. This allows a taxpayer to keep the earning power of deferred tax dollars while at the same time exchanging assets.

For example, rather than sell an investment property and pay the capital gains tax and then use the net proceeds to buy another property, the 1031 Exchange rules allow an investor to forego paying the capital gains tax and use the total proceeds of the sale to invest in the new property, thereby deferring the capital gains tax until the new property is sold.

Another advantage is that the investor’s heirs get a stepped-up basis on such inherited property. While the investor receives a reduced basis in the property (e.g., the basis in the old property), upon the investor’s death, his or her heirs would receive the property at fair market value at the date of transfer to the heirs. When the heir goes to sell the property, they will pay tax on the difference between the new selling price and the fair market value of the property at the time of inheritance.

 

LIKE-KIND PROPERTY

1031 Exchange rules require that the two properties be “like-kind” property. The rules consider the exchange of residential investment property for commercial investment property, and vice versa, to be like-kind. However, the property must be in the US, as an exchange of US property for foreign property is not considered “like-kind” under the rules.


DISADVANTAGES OF A 1031 EXCHANGE

The taxpayer should also consider that there are a couple of disadvantages to a tax-deferred exchange, as follows:

  1. There will be a reduced basis (i.e., tax value) in the replacement property, since the lower basis from the old property will transfer to the new property. Because of this, the taxpayer will have lower depreciation deductions on the new property than he or she would have had if he or she purchased the property without a 1031 exchange.
  2. There will be increased transactional costs for completing a tax-deferred exchange, as the owner will incur additional professional fees.
  3. The taxpayer may not use any of the net proceeds from the disposition of the property for anything except reinvestment in real property. Otherwise, there will be tax consequences on the amount of the proceeds not used as reinvestment.

 

QUALIFIED INTERMEDIARY

A 1031 Exchange requires a Qualified Intermediary, as defined by Section 1031 of the Internal Revenue Code, to handle the entire process.

All of the proceeds from the sale, including non-cash proceeds (such as a boat that you might receive in trade in addition to the property), must go to the Qualified Intermediary to be used for the purchase of the new property. Anything received directly or indirectly by the seller (no matter how insignificant) will disqualify the entire transaction, resulting in the recognition of the entire gain (and in the case of a Foreign Buyer, resulting in FIRPTA withholding).

 

VERY SPECIFIC RULES RE: THE IDENTIFICATION
AND EXCHANGE PERIODS

  1. The new property must be located within the US.
  2. From the closing date of the old property, the seller has 45 calendar days to provide the Qualified Intermediary with a list of properties they want to buy (this list is called “The 45-Day List” and there is typically more than one property on the list in case a deal falls through).
  3. From the closing date of the old property, the seller has 180 calendar days to purchase one or more of the properties on The 45-Day List;
  4. The seller of the old property must take title to the new property in the same legal name in which they owned the old property.
  5. The seller must buy new property for an amount equal to, or greater than, the sale price of the old property.
  6. Cash from the sale of the old property, after paying closing costs and liabilities, must go the Qualified Intermediary and be used for the purchase of the new property.

The 45-day timeline must be strictly followed, as it is not extendable in any way, even if the 45th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal US holiday. The Exchange Period ends at exactly 180 days after the date on which the person transfers the property relinquished or on the due date for the person’s tax return for that taxable year in which the transfer of the relinquished property has occurred, whichever is earlier. Again, the 180-day timeline must be strictly followed, as it is not extendable in any way, even if the 180th day falls on a Saturday, Sunday or legal US holiday.

1031 Exchange Rules - tax deferred exchange

 

1031 EXCHANGE FOR FOREIGN INVESTORS 

Non US sellers can also qualify for 1031 treatment of their assets 

The US government makes it possible for a Foreign Seller to use the 1031 Exchange provisions. In addition to the normal rules noted above, FIRPTA imposes an additional requirement upon 1031 Exchange rules in order to avoid the 10% withholding. The additional requirement is that the individual responsible for transferring the old property from the Foreign Seller to the buyer/transferee (such as a title or escrow company) must receive from the Foreign Seller either:

  1. A Withholding Certificate issued by the IRS that sanctions the particular exchange and allows the transferee to avoid withholding any tax, or;
  2. Notice from the Foreign Seller that certifies that the seller has applied for a Withholding Certificate.

First, any foreign property owner should plan ahead to obtain an ITIN far in advance of transferring any property, and to apply for a withholding certificate as soon as any property transfer has been arranged. Second, it is critical that any Foreign Seller wishing to complete a 1031 Exchange consults with a knowledgeable, professional, qualified intermediary early in the sale process, and as well procures tax or financial counsel from experienced advisors, to assist them with the closing and US tax filing process. If you would like references for a Qualified Intermediary, please let us know. 

Additional resource from our CPA:

Generally, a section 1031 Transfer, or a Like-Kind Exchange, is a method used to defer capital gains taxes on investment real estate property in the United States when it is sold, or exchanged, for a different investment real estate property that is considered “like-kind property”, meaning that actual investment real estate must be exchanged for investment real estate, and not real estate used for personal reasons or non-real estate assets. We assume without deciding that for purposes of this memo the requirements of section 1031 are satisfied.

However, in this case, the property is owned by a non-US person for tax purposes (foreign individual) which would also make this exchange fall under FIRPTA. FIRPTA withholding is governed by the rules of section 1445. Under FIRPTA, if a property is purchased from a non-resident alien, the US buyer must withhold 15% of the value of the property in the transaction to send to the IRS. However, since this is a 1031 transaction, in limited circumstances if certain conditions are met no withholding is required.

As a general rule, under section 1. 1445-2(d)(2), a transferee is not required to withhold if there is a withholding exception available, e.g., if the transferor provides a written notice to the transferee stating that due to a nonrecognition provision of the IRC, the transferor is not required to recognize any gain or loss with respect to the transfer, and the transferee provides the written notice to the IRS within 20 days of the transfer at the following address:

P.O. Box 21086, Drop Point 8731, FIRPTA Unit, Philadelphia, PA 19114-0586

This written notice must contain the following information, according to section 1445-2(d)(2)(iii), and be verified as true and signed under penalties of perjury by the transferor, the non-resident alien:

  1. a)  A statement that the document submitted constitutes a notice of a nonrecognition transaction or a treaty provision pursuant to the requirements of §1.1445-2(d)(2);

  2. b)  The name, social security number (or some other identifying number), and the home address of the foreign individual;

  3. c)  A statement that foreign individual is not required to recognize any gain or loss with respect to the transfer;

  4. d)  A brief description of the transfer; and

  5. e)  A brief summary of the law, section 1031 in our case, and facts supporting the claim that recognition

    of gain or loss is not required with respect to the transfer.

 

In addition to the steps listed above, section 1445-2(d)(2)(iv) states that the above withholding exclusion is only available to participants of a section 1031 transaction, if the transaction is done simultaneously, i.e., both transfers under the section 1031 exchange take effect on the same day. Moreover, there must be no boot, e.g. cash, received by the foreign individual as part of the transactions. Thus, if the property surrendered by the foreign individual is worth more than the property the foreign individual receives, and there is a cash payment to the foreign individual to equalize the consideration, FIRPTA is triggered and withholding will be mandatory. This could also arise if the property surrendered by the foreign individual has no mortgage but the property received has a mortgage which is assumed.

In the absence of meeting the special section 1031 restrictions, i.e. the simultaneous requirement and the no- boot requirement, the only avenue to avoid FIRPTA withholding is to obtain a withholding certificate from the IRS. The details and planning for such certificate is beyond the scope of this memo.
To summarize, the following steps are necessary, assuming the requirements of section 1031 are otherwise complied with:

  1. 1)  Ensure that there is absolutely no boot, i.e., no cash is being transferred in the exchange to the foreign individual.

  2. 2)  Ensure that the exchange contract and closing documents specifically result in both transfers being effective on the same day.

  3. 3)  Ensure that a written notice of non-recognition is provided by the foreign individual the other party to the exchange containing the requirements for the notice listed above.

  4. 4)  Ensure that other party to the exchange receiving the notice sends the notice to the IRS, at the following address:

              a. P.O. Box 21086, Drop Point 8731, FIRPTA Unit, Philadelphia, PA 19114-0586

Legal counsel should be consulted and provide legal advice to make sure these matters are accomplished at closing.

 

Invest In Miami

 

SCHEDULE AN IN-PERSON
MEETING WITH OUR TEAM

SCHEDULE A MEETING

Do I need a Realtor?